Deflicker - a short question

Support for my VirtualDub filters
DAE avatar
SteveMcKlick

Deflicker - a short question

Post by SteveMcKlick »

Hello friends,
i am new to this forum, but I think, my question is not discussed here earlier.
It is a question or a suggestion for designing a deflicker filter for virtual dub.

I am NOT a programer, therefore I just can hope, that this idea will become a seed
or maybe there is already a solution.

OK - here is the problem:
I do have a Highspeed video - made by myself - and here the flickering of a neon bulb
or most of the artificial light caused by the 50 hz flickering of the current line is
pretty visible and annoying.

But: In my video, the flickering is NOT even over the whole picture.
There are regions - whith high reflection - where the flickering is very visible
and other regions (the dark parts, not very reflective)
where the flickering is hardly visible.

If I have understood the "Deflicker" of Donald Craft correctly,
there is the possiblity with the "window" (which I would call "number of frames") which are used to make
an averaging of the flickering in light and dark - over the number of frames.

This is very helpful, if the flickering is more or less even over the whole picture or frame.

BUT - for areas with different flicker-behaviour, this is NOT very helpful.

So, maybe the deflicker can be improved with this:

1. to divide the frames of the video in small tiles (smallest tile would be a pixel)

2. to analyse over a number of frames the "flicker-frequenz"
I think, this could be done automaticely, using a FFT-Analysing program, since the variation of the "light/dark" could be different in amplitude,
but should have the same frequency on nearl ever pixel.

3. Searching for the average "Light/Dark-Value" but NOT for the whole frame, but for the tiles or pixels.

4. Applying the results value to the pixel for getting the result video after filtering.