[RESOLVED] "Bad license" after donating and fresh install

Support for problems with license issues for my licensed tools
Post Reply
User avatar
chaank
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2019 1:39 am

[RESOLVED] "Bad license" after donating and fresh install

Post by chaank » Wed Apr 17, 2019 3:02 am

Hi Don,

I have just installed a fresh copy of DGDecNV/DGIndexNV build 2053.0.0.175, made my donation yesterday, received your instructions, followed them and have a license.txt in the installation dir.

I can create a .dgi file with DGIndexNV, but when loading the .avs (e.g. in MPC-HC) I only see a black screen with "Bad license" in the upper left corner. What might I have done wrong?

Here's the content of the .avs:

Code: Select all

LoadPlugin("c:\Program Files\DGDecNV\DGDecodeNV.dll")
DGSource("d:\my-4k-video.dgi",fulldepth=true)
Thanks in advance!

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4382
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: "Bad license" after donating and fresh install

Post by admin » Wed Apr 17, 2019 9:19 am

You need to have a copy of the license.txt file in the same directory where DGDecodeNV.dll is located.

User avatar
chaank
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2019 1:39 am

Re: "Bad license" after donating and fresh install

Post by chaank » Wed Apr 17, 2019 9:54 am

CropImage.png
CropImage.png (11.16 KiB) Viewed 1226 times
Well, I followed your instructions and that's the case. If you want, I can PM you all the IDs, Codes and numbers...

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4382
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: "Bad license" after donating and fresh install

Post by admin » Wed Apr 17, 2019 11:09 am

Your screenshot does not show what directory that is, so it is useless to me.

Usually when people get this it is because they have another copy of DGDecodeNV.dll laying around somewhere and it is being found first. So search your system (including autoload dirs) and make sure you have only one copy of DGDecodeNV.dll and that a valid license.txt file is there with it.

If DGIndexNV is working then your license file is OK.

User avatar
chaank
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2019 1:39 am

Re: "Bad license" after donating and fresh install

Post by chaank » Thu Apr 18, 2019 1:35 am

Thanks a lot, Don. Indeed I had copied the DGDecodeNV.dll into the "c:\Program Files\AviSynth+\plugins64+\" folder where I keep all the other plugins - just without the license.txt. And since this copy hasn't been loaded into the .avs file, I didn't identify this as the problem.

Well, after deleting the copy everything works fine and I have excellent results.

Thanks again!

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4382
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: "Bad license" after donating and fresh install

Post by admin » Thu Apr 18, 2019 8:05 am

it's a quirk of Avisynth. The plugin dir copy gets used even if the script specifies a different copy.

Post Reply