Running DGDecIM on a virtual machine

This is the home of QuickSync (aka Intel Media SDK) stuff.
DAE avatar
Kempniu

Running DGDecIM on a virtual machine

Post by Kempniu »

I have been using DGDecNV for quite a few years now, but I am going to sell my current encoding rig in the coming days. This forced me to start putting together a new solution, which I was hoping could be virtual machine-based. I am not that much into performance, but two other things are essential in my case: frame accuracy and proper MBAFF support.

I was hoping I could just use DiAVC and DGAVCDecDI, but then I learned both are dead.

I experimented with FFMS2, but it handles some frames in the MBAFF DVB-T streams I work with incorrectly, so using it is out of the picture.

Then I found the new tool, DGDecIM, but DGIndexIM crashes immediately upon starting when it is run inside QEMU-based VMs (both Windows XP Professional SP3 and Windows 7 Ultimate SP1) with exception 0xc0000005 (access violation) at address 0x0003c411. Could it be that the licensing-related code is trying to access something that is not available on a VM? Or perhaps should something from Intel be explicitly installed before the tool can be run as it does not handle library errors nicely (yet)?

I am happy to do any testing or experimenting if you would like me to. So far I am hopeless.
admin

Re: Running DGDecIM on a virtual machine

Post by admin »

Hi. Let's try to isolate possibilities. First question: If you type just "dgindexim" with nothing else, does it crash? You should get an error popup that shows your machine ID.

It could be license related but let's go step-by-step. If that fails I can send you a standalone app that reads your main board serial number to see if it is simply that call that fails. I use WMI so if your VM does not support WMI we have a problem.

DGIndexIM does not depend on anything Intel. DGDecodeIM will want to load the Intel SW or HW DLL, depending on the setting.
DAE avatar
Aleron Ives