[RESOLVED] DGDecIM crash on Windows 2012 R2

This is the home of QuickSync (aka Intel Media SDK) stuff.
DAE avatar
Nico83500
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 9:28 am

Re: DGDecIM crash on Windows 2012 R2

Post by Nico83500 »

You're welcome, it's a pleasure, thank you to spend your time to help me :P
DAE avatar
Nico83500
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 9:28 am

Re: DGDecIM crash on Windows 2012 R2

Post by Nico83500 »

So I've tried the new nico.exe and here is the result :
Connected to ROOT\CIMV2 WMI namespace
returned 1, count 0
No objects found
Cleaning up...
Cleanup successfull
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4449
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: DGDecIM crash on Windows 2012 R2

Post by admin »

OK then, thanks, it's clear that the WMI query is not supported on that server. I don't have any solution short of removing my protections, and that is not likely any time soon.
DAE avatar
Nico83500
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 9:28 am

Re: DGDecIM crash on Windows 2012 R2

Post by Nico83500 »

No problem I understand ;) so I'll use DGDecIM only on my PC.
It's only an (perhaps bad) idea : you could test if your WMI request works and if not, get WMI BIOS serial number instead of baseboard ? And if it doesn't work show a warning "Your hardware is not supported"

WMI request on my PC :
wmic bios get serialnumber : PESZ........
wmic baseboard get serialnumber : CZC....... (serial number on the external sticker)

WMI requestion on my server :
wmic bios get serialnumber : CZ2............. (serial number on the external sticker)
wmic baseboard get serialnumber : Not available

So on ProLiant server, it seems Bios S/N replaces Baseboard S/N
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4449
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: DGDecIM crash on Windows 2012 R2

Post by admin »

That's a good idea. I'll do some experiments and if it's feasible I'll do it.

Can you do one more experiment for me? Try to run the 32-bit version of DGIndexIM on the server. Is it the same?
DAE avatar
Nico83500
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 9:28 am

Re: DGDecIM crash on Windows 2012 R2

Post by Nico83500 »

Yes I've tried both and it's the same issue with x86 and x64 version.
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4449
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: DGDecIM crash on Windows 2012 R2

Post by admin »

Thank you.
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4449
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: DGDecIM crash on Windows 2012 R2

Post by admin »

Please download and test this:

http://rationalqm.us/misc/DGIndexIM.exe
DAE avatar
Nico83500
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 9:28 am

Re: DGDecIM crash on Windows 2012 R2

Post by Nico83500 »

It works ! I get an ID on my server ! Can I generate a license and continue to test ? Or is it necessary to modify .dll also ?
And is it a x86 or x64 version ?
Thank you, you're the best ;)
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4449
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: DGDecIM crash on Windows 2012 R2

Post by admin »

Yes, go ahead and generate your license and continue. That is the 64 bit version so use the existing 64 bit DLL and Intel SW lib. If everything works, I'll update the release.
DAE avatar
Nico83500
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 9:28 am

Re: DGDecIM crash on Windows 2012 R2

Post by Nico83500 »

So I've tried DGIndexIM.exe and I can create .dgi file without problem.
Then I have created an Avisynth plugin but I can't load AVS file :
"Avisynth open failure:
LoadPlugin: unable to load "DGDecodeIM.dll"
(C:\Test\Movie\Script.avs, line 1)"
I've tried it with x264 and VirtualDubMod, same issue. I use x64 dll (DGDecodeIM and Intel) and DGIndexIM.exe

Avisynth 2.58 works correctly (I've tried a script with Version() and it returned the right version and I've tried DirectShowSource).

Edit : I have tried 32-bit version of DGDecIM.dll and it seems to work. I have created .dgi on my PC, copy to server and run x264 encoding with 32-bit version.
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4449
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: DGDecIM crash on Windows 2012 R2

Post by admin »

Strange. It works fine for me in 64 bit. Can you please do these:

1. Make sure you have the libmfxsw64.dll from the ZIP distribution in the same directory as the modified DGIndexIM.exe and the DGDecodeIM.dll from the ZIP distribution.

2. Use a script like this:

loadplugin("dgdecodeim.dll")
dgsourceim("alba.dgi",engine=2,debug=true)

where dgdecodeim.dll is the 64-bit version from the ZIP distribution.

3. Make your dgi file using the modified version and then make and run the script.

4. If it still fails please post your dgi file and your script.

If needed I'll make a debug build of DGDecodeIM.dll. But things should be working. BTW, the dgi file made with the 64 bit modified version of DGIndexIM should work with the 32 bit DGDecodeIM.
DAE avatar
Nico83500
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 9:28 am

Re: DGDecIM crash on Windows 2012 R2

Post by Nico83500 »

Thank you but it doesn't work.
I have followed your procedure but no success.
Is it necessary to use a x64 version of Avisynth ? I use 2.58. I'm trying to post the dgi file but it is too large.
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4449
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: DGDecIM crash on Windows 2012 R2

Post by admin »

Yes, of course you need a 64-bit Avisynth! You'll also need 64-bit VirtualDub, etc.

Using Avisynth 2.5.8 is like using Windows 98 these days. I recommend upgrading to Avisynth+. It has both 32-bit and 64-bit versions, which can coexist. BTW, DGDecNV dropped 2.5.8 support quite a while ago.

I'll release the revised DGIndexIM (both 32-bit and 64-bit). Thanks for your report and testing, Nico.
DAE avatar
Nico83500
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 9:28 am

Re: [RESOLVED] DGDecIM crash on Windows 2012 R2

Post by Nico83500 »

I thought about it after my tests, sorry... :facepalm:
I didn't know for Avisynth, I must reinstall my PC so I'll upgrade to Avisynth+ ;)
And thank you for the time spent on my issue :bravo:
User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4449
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: [RESOLVED] DGDecIM crash on Windows 2012 R2

Post by admin »

Nico83500 wrote:
Tue Aug 22, 2017 12:30 pm
I must reinstall my PC so I'll upgrade to Avisynth+
You won't regret it, Nico. Good luck with your projects!
Post Reply