HDR -> SDR conversion

These CUDA filters are packaged into DGDecodeNV, which is part of DGDecNV.
DAE avatar
Guest

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by Guest »

Same samples with one change in settings

Code: Select all

LoadPlugin("C:/Program Files (Portable)/dgdecnv/x64 Binaries/DGDecodeNV.dll")
DGSource("D:\#test\#hdr\hdr 2.dgi", fieldop=0, fulldepth=True)
LoadPlugin("C:/Program Files (Portable)/AVS Templates/DGHDRtoSDR/x64/DGHDRtoSDR.dll")
DGHDRtoSDR(impl="255",tm="gamma",light=45,gamma=0.40)
prefetch(16)
HDRtoSDR 2-1-2
HDRtoSDR 2-1.bmp
HDRtoSDR 2-2-2
HDRtoSDR 2-2.bmp
HDRtoSDR 2-3-2
HDRtoSDR 2-3.bmp
DAE avatar
Narkyy
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 11:51 pm

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by Narkyy »

Noticed the same as I can see in your tests, highlights seem to clip to 235 a bit early with tm="gamma"
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by admin »

Thank you, gonca! Very useful as always.

What would really help would be suggestions for better default parameters. I've pretty much picked them arbitrarily, so any guidance from these real use cases would be valuable for setting them more appropriately. Ideally, each mode would work pretty fine out of the box, although tweaking may be required for some sources.

On another matter, does anyone have any 12-bit HDR sources? I know they are possible in theory but I haven't seen any in practice.
DAE avatar
Guest

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by Guest »

For better default settings would be an easy task, but
I can pick an image and vary one setting at a time but it would require some input from others with suggestions, since this a subjective case
DAE avatar
Guest

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by Guest »

Okay, let's start
All samples resized to 1280 x 720 at 8 bits
SDR
sdr 3.bmp
light=40,gamma=0.40
light=40,gamma=0.40.bmp
light=40,gamma=0.45
light=40,gamma=0.45.bmp
light=45,gamma=0.40
light=45,gamma=0.40.bmp
Please feel free to suggest setting tweaks but let us keep it to one change per so we can better see the effects
If a different clip is desired please let me know the criteria, i.e. light colour etc
DAE avatar
Guest

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by Guest »

Edit
Had a temporary brain freeze
User avatar
Selur
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 3:49 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by Selur »

for the next update of the read me:
The input must be YUVP20P16, e.g., from DGSource(fulldepth=true).
YUVP20P16 -> YUV420P16
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by admin »

Selur wrote:
Thu May 24, 2018 7:17 am
YUVP20P16 -> YUV420P16
Fixed, thank you.
DAE avatar
Narkyy
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 11:51 pm

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by Narkyy »

I think white=2.5 for Hable is a bit overkill as default, a lot of highlights are overblown, it should be at least 5.
The old default of ~11 was too high
DAE avatar
Guest

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by Guest »

"Better default settings"
light=55,gamma=0.42
SDR image is 1920 x 1080 24 bit, so HDRtoSDR was resized to same
Any suggestions/recommendations for adjustments to settings are welcome


SDR
sdr 2.bmp
HDRtoSDR
light=55,gamma=0.42.bmp
SDR
sdr 2.bmp
HDRtoSDR
light=55,gamma=0.42.bmp
SDR
sdr 2.bmp
HDRtoSDR
light=55,gamma=0.42.bmp
DAE avatar
douzi
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri May 25, 2018 3:28 am

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by douzi »

Hi,

I have trouble loading the plugin DGHDRtoSDR.dll

I am using AviSynth+ 0.1 (r2664, MT, x86_64), with 64bit AvsPmod. I have VC++ redistributable 2005,2008,2010,2012,2013,2017 (x64) installed.

Script:
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins64+\DGHDRtoSDR.dll")

Error:
Cannot load file 'C:/Program Files (x86)/AviSynth+/plugins64+/DGHDRtoSDR.dll". Platform returned code 126: The specified module could not be found.

I don't have DGDecodeNV and I don't have an nVidia GPU.

Could you please help to locate where is the problem?

Thanks!
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by admin »

douzi wrote:
Fri May 25, 2018 3:33 am
I have trouble loading the plugin DGHDRtoSDR.dll
Greetings douzi and welcome to the forum.

Please re-download and try again, as I have configured nvcuda.dll as delay loading. Of course you need the parameter impl="sw" or you will receive an error. Please advise if it is loading for you.

Be warned that software mode is slow.
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by admin »

To those who have posted samples and suggested new default values: Thank you! Before deciding on the final defaults, which of course will use your input, I am adding a graph feature that will allow the tonemapping curve to be visualized. It should help us both to be more scientific in our conclusions and to more easily know the effects of our parameter settings.
DAE avatar
Guest

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by Guest »

admin wrote:
Fri May 25, 2018 8:49 am
To those who have posted samples and suggested new default values: Thank you! Before deciding on the final defaults, which of course will use your input, I am adding a graph feature that will allow the tonemapping curve to be visualized. It should help us both to be more scientific in our conclusions and to more easily know the effects of our parameter settings.
That would be a great help to hopefully point out small effects
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by admin »

For sure. I have it working and I have already discovered that Hable (with the commonly used parameters) is not doing what we think, it looks like a gamma correction; there is no toe, linear section, and shoulder. I have searched for a user-friendly description of the 8 (!) parameters but not found anything useful, and I haven't been able to find parameters that give the filmic curve. I'm planning to write my own filmic operator with intuitive parameters.
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by admin »

@douzi

I tested on my laptop with no nVidia and the DLL loads and runs fine. Make sure you have Avisynth+ installed with its run-time dependencies. You can use AVSMeter -avsinfo to check the installation.
DAE avatar
Guest

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by Guest »

admin wrote:
Fri May 25, 2018 3:33 pm
For sure. I have it working and I have already discovered that Hable (with the commonly used parameters) is not doing what we think, it looks like a gamma correction; there is no toe, linear section, and shoulder. I have searched for a user-friendly description of the 8 (!) parameters but not found anything useful, and I haven't been able to find parameters that give the filmic curve. I'm planning to write my own filmic operator with intuitive parameters.
The problem now is that we are trying to pick settings for what is meant for a video from a handful of frames
It might look good on 5 frames but not so good on the other 99995 frames in the video
The graph will allow a "visualization" of the overall effect
Great idea :bravo:
DAE avatar
douzi
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri May 25, 2018 3:28 am

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by douzi »

Hi,

Thanks for the quick reply.

I redownloaded the plugin (1.2 version) and tried again, still not loading. As for sw mode it is specified when doing the tonemap not in loading the plugin so I don't think that is the issue.

AVSmeter64 log:
AVSMeter 2.7.6 (x64) - Copyright (c) 2012-2018, Groucho2004

VersionString: AviSynth+ 0.1 (r2664, MT, x86_64)
VersionNumber: 2.60
File / Product version: 0.1.0.0 / 0.1.0.0
Interface Version: 6
Multi-threading support: Yes
Avisynth.dll location: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\avisynth.dll
Avisynth.dll time stamp: 2018-03-29, 03:59:26 (UTC)
PluginDir2_5 (HKLM, x64): C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins64
PluginDir+ (HKLM, x64): C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins64+


[CPP 2.6 Plugins (64 Bit)]
C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins64+\ConvertStacked.dll [2018-03-29]
C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins64+\DGHDRtoSDR.dll [2018-05-22]
C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins64+\DirectShowSource.dll [2018-03-29]
C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins64+\ffms2.dll [2016-12-29]
C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins64+\ImageSeq.dll [2018-03-29]
C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins64+\Shibatch.dll [2018-03-29]
C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins64+\TimeStretch.dll [2018-03-29]
C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins64+\VDubFilter.dll [2018-03-29]

[Scripts (AVSI)]
C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins64+\colors_rgb.avsi [2016-07-05]
C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins64+\FFMS2.avsi [2015-05-22]

[Uncategorized files]
C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins64+\colors_rgb.txt [2016-07-05]



[Plugin errors]
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Cannot load file 'C:/Program Files (x86)/AviSynth+/plugins64+/DGHDRtoSDR.dll'. Platform returned code 126:
The specified module could not be found.

Dependencies that could not be loaded:
nvcuda.dll
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by admin »

Are you absolutely sure you got and are loading the new one from today? Try loading it manually not through the plugins dir. It's working fine for me.
DAE avatar
douzi
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri May 25, 2018 3:28 am

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by douzi »

Sorry I used the link in previous post.

Anyway redownload from http://rationalqm.us/misc/ and now it is successfully loading and with sw mode I can do the tonemap.

Thanks for your hard work!
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by admin »

Great to hear, douzi. Thanks for the update.
DAE avatar
Narkyy
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 11:51 pm

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by Narkyy »

I think light defaults for Gamma should be left like they are now, it all depends on the film tonemapped so it should be adjusted by the user.
Resized to 720p to take less space

default vs light=0.55
1.png
2.png
3.png
4.png
DAE avatar
douzi
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri May 25, 2018 3:28 am

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by douzi »

Hi,

I encountered some issue with highlights with DGHDRtoSDR.

Here's three-way comparison between DG(sw mode, hable) vs. MadVR (130nits, dumb mode, late gamut conversion) vs.VS Hable
The third one with Hable in vapoursynth is using the script here: https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php? ... ost1832071

Same issue for "gamma" and "reinhard" too.

Image Image Image

Here's a link to the sample (screenshots at frame #400):
https://mega.nz/#!O0sEDTKZ!f-2a2cJEcKpx ... fTn4YMlPao
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by admin »

"I encountered some issue with highlights with DGHDRtoSDR."

Can you please tell me what the issue is specifically? Refer to specific areas of specific frames and say what you think is wrong with them. I'm not good at guessing games. ;)
DAE avatar
douzi
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri May 25, 2018 3:28 am

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by douzi »

Sorry, forgot to point out its in the highlights, look at the lighting in the blue light bars, it looks very unnatural in your implementation while it is ok on source, MadVR and VS's hable tonemap.

The screenshots are taken from frame #400 in the sample clip.
Post Reply