HDR -> SDR conversion

These CUDA filters are packaged into DGDecodeNV, which is part of DGDecNV.
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by admin »

Thanks for the testing, gonca!
DAE avatar
Guest

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by Guest »

For comparison
Speed of script is over 128 FPS
DAE avatar
Guest

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by Guest »

admin wrote:
Tue May 22, 2018 4:09 pm
Thanks for the testing, gonca!
The results with gamma look very good to me, might need a dash higher brightness.
But to be honest, no one approach with one set of default settings will be perfect for every source.
Right now we have gamma, Hable, and if the "old" plugin works, Reinhart
It takes very little time to create a script, and index a movie in order to load it into VDub
Then we can adjust settings, or approach, quickly until we get our desired results.
After all, a lot of this is subjective
Set it up to get the results you like
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by admin »

dmcs wrote:
Tue May 22, 2018 3:54 pm
I've got this weird green thing when using Hable in the latest DGHDRtoSDR_1.2.
Please re-download and test again. Should be fixed.

Thanks for pointing this out. :salute:
DAE avatar
dmcs
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 9:40 pm

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by dmcs »

admin wrote:
Tue May 22, 2018 4:30 pm
Please re-download and test again. Should be fixed.

Thanks for pointing this out. :salute:
Yay!!! So, may I ask what was that? :)
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by admin »

I forgot to clip the RGB to >= 0 after the Hable step.
DAE avatar
Narkyy
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 11:51 pm

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by Narkyy »

Can the Hable parameters be changed with the new plugin? I'm not sure if I missed something in the readme or not.
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by admin »

Yes. Use parameters exp, a, b, c, d, e, f, and white.

The document mentions w but it should be white. I'll fix that now.
DAE avatar
Narkyy
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 11:51 pm

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by Narkyy »

Ah yeah, I should've tried more than just w :)
Thanks!
DAE avatar
Guest

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by Guest »

Had some time so I ran another test
Same settings and conditions as before

HDRtoSDR2-1
hdrtosdr 2-1.bmp
SDR 2-1
sdr 2-1.bmp
HDRtoSDR 2-2
hdrtosdr 2-2.bmp
SDR 2-2
sdr 2-2.bmp
HDRtoSDR 2-3
hdrtosdr 2-3.bmp
SDR 2-3
sdr 2-3.bmp
DAE avatar
Guest

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by Guest »

Same samples with one change in settings

Code: Select all

LoadPlugin("C:/Program Files (Portable)/dgdecnv/x64 Binaries/DGDecodeNV.dll")
DGSource("D:\#test\#hdr\hdr 2.dgi", fieldop=0, fulldepth=True)
LoadPlugin("C:/Program Files (Portable)/AVS Templates/DGHDRtoSDR/x64/DGHDRtoSDR.dll")
DGHDRtoSDR(impl="255",tm="gamma",light=45,gamma=0.40)
prefetch(16)
HDRtoSDR 2-1-2
HDRtoSDR 2-1.bmp
HDRtoSDR 2-2-2
HDRtoSDR 2-2.bmp
HDRtoSDR 2-3-2
HDRtoSDR 2-3.bmp
DAE avatar
Narkyy
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 11:51 pm

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by Narkyy »

Noticed the same as I can see in your tests, highlights seem to clip to 235 a bit early with tm="gamma"
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by admin »

Thank you, gonca! Very useful as always.

What would really help would be suggestions for better default parameters. I've pretty much picked them arbitrarily, so any guidance from these real use cases would be valuable for setting them more appropriately. Ideally, each mode would work pretty fine out of the box, although tweaking may be required for some sources.

On another matter, does anyone have any 12-bit HDR sources? I know they are possible in theory but I haven't seen any in practice.
DAE avatar
Guest

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by Guest »

For better default settings would be an easy task, but
I can pick an image and vary one setting at a time but it would require some input from others with suggestions, since this a subjective case
DAE avatar
Guest

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by Guest »

Okay, let's start
All samples resized to 1280 x 720 at 8 bits
SDR
sdr 3.bmp
light=40,gamma=0.40
light=40,gamma=0.40.bmp
light=40,gamma=0.45
light=40,gamma=0.45.bmp
light=45,gamma=0.40
light=45,gamma=0.40.bmp
Please feel free to suggest setting tweaks but let us keep it to one change per so we can better see the effects
If a different clip is desired please let me know the criteria, i.e. light colour etc
DAE avatar
Guest

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by Guest »

Edit
Had a temporary brain freeze
User avatar
Selur
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 3:49 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by Selur »

for the next update of the read me:
The input must be YUVP20P16, e.g., from DGSource(fulldepth=true).
YUVP20P16 -> YUV420P16
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by admin »

Selur wrote:
Thu May 24, 2018 7:17 am
YUVP20P16 -> YUV420P16
Fixed, thank you.
DAE avatar
Narkyy
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 11:51 pm

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by Narkyy »

I think white=2.5 for Hable is a bit overkill as default, a lot of highlights are overblown, it should be at least 5.
The old default of ~11 was too high
DAE avatar
Guest

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by Guest »

"Better default settings"
light=55,gamma=0.42
SDR image is 1920 x 1080 24 bit, so HDRtoSDR was resized to same
Any suggestions/recommendations for adjustments to settings are welcome


SDR
sdr 2.bmp
HDRtoSDR
light=55,gamma=0.42.bmp
SDR
sdr 2.bmp
HDRtoSDR
light=55,gamma=0.42.bmp
SDR
sdr 2.bmp
HDRtoSDR
light=55,gamma=0.42.bmp
DAE avatar
douzi
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri May 25, 2018 3:28 am

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by douzi »

Hi,

I have trouble loading the plugin DGHDRtoSDR.dll

I am using AviSynth+ 0.1 (r2664, MT, x86_64), with 64bit AvsPmod. I have VC++ redistributable 2005,2008,2010,2012,2013,2017 (x64) installed.

Script:
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins64+\DGHDRtoSDR.dll")

Error:
Cannot load file 'C:/Program Files (x86)/AviSynth+/plugins64+/DGHDRtoSDR.dll". Platform returned code 126: The specified module could not be found.

I don't have DGDecodeNV and I don't have an nVidia GPU.

Could you please help to locate where is the problem?

Thanks!
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by admin »

douzi wrote:
Fri May 25, 2018 3:33 am
I have trouble loading the plugin DGHDRtoSDR.dll
Greetings douzi and welcome to the forum.

Please re-download and try again, as I have configured nvcuda.dll as delay loading. Of course you need the parameter impl="sw" or you will receive an error. Please advise if it is loading for you.

Be warned that software mode is slow.
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by admin »

To those who have posted samples and suggested new default values: Thank you! Before deciding on the final defaults, which of course will use your input, I am adding a graph feature that will allow the tonemapping curve to be visualized. It should help us both to be more scientific in our conclusions and to more easily know the effects of our parameter settings.
DAE avatar
Guest

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by Guest »

admin wrote:
Fri May 25, 2018 8:49 am
To those who have posted samples and suggested new default values: Thank you! Before deciding on the final defaults, which of course will use your input, I am adding a graph feature that will allow the tonemapping curve to be visualized. It should help us both to be more scientific in our conclusions and to more easily know the effects of our parameter settings.
That would be a great help to hopefully point out small effects
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by admin »

For sure. I have it working and I have already discovered that Hable (with the commonly used parameters) is not doing what we think, it looks like a gamma correction; there is no toe, linear section, and shoulder. I have searched for a user-friendly description of the 8 (!) parameters but not found anything useful, and I haven't been able to find parameters that give the filmic curve. I'm planning to write my own filmic operator with intuitive parameters.
Post Reply