HDR -> SDR conversion

These CUDA filters are packaged into DGDecodeNV, which is part of DGDecNV.
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by admin »

Try gamma of 0.40 to 0.42 and report back. Thank you.

gamma= 0.42 is the theoretically correct value. I set a lower one to bring out some black detail but probably set too low.
DAE avatar
dmcs
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 9:40 pm

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by dmcs »

admin wrote:
Mon May 21, 2018 4:53 pm
Try gamma of 0.40 to 0.42 and report back. Thank you.

gamma= 4.2 is the theoretically correct value. I set a lower one to bring out some black detail but probably set too low.
Typo, I guess?
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by admin »

For sure. Corrected, thank you. :salute:
DAE avatar
Narkyy
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 11:51 pm

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by Narkyy »

Here's the same frame, gamma at 0.40 and 0.42
It does improve the contrast, though still dim in terms of brightness where light shines.
However the Hable method often results in some scenes brighter than SDR, so it might work better in places.

If I increase light, it only makes the paper overblown and loses detail there (which is already happening at 0.47)

dghdrtosdr(impl="255",light=47,gamma=0.40) Image
dghdrtosdr(impl="255",light=47,gamma=0.42) Image
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by admin »

Honestly, I cannot see the things you claim to see and they seem highly subjective to me in any case. So I'll just add Hable as an option and declare mission accomplished.
DAE avatar
Narkyy
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 11:51 pm

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by Narkyy »

Yes sorry it is subjective, otherwise the tonemap is great :salute:
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by admin »

I added Hable:

http://rationalqm.us/misc/DGHDRtoSDR_1.2.rar

Please read the instructions carefully as parameters have changed.
If you'd like to argue for any different Hable default values just speak up.
DAE avatar
dmcs
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 9:40 pm

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by dmcs »

I've got this weird green thing when using Hable in the latest DGHDRtoSDR_1.2.
hable_065806.png
Gamma mode:
gamma_065806.png
My code for Hable mode:

Code: Select all

DGSource("source.dgi", fulldepth=true)
Crop(0, 280, -0, -280).Spline36Resize(1920, 800)
DGHDRtoSDR(impl="255", light=35, tm="hable")
DAE avatar
Guest

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by Guest »

Set up some samples for version 1.1, but I was a little late, updates are fast.
So here are some images for 1.2
Script is

Code: Select all

LoadPlugin("C:/Program Files (Portable)/dgdecnv/x64 Binaries/DGDecodeNV.dll")
DGSource("D:\#test\#hdr\hdr 1.dgi", fieldop=0, fulldepth=True)
LoadPlugin("C:/Program Files (Portable)/AVS Templates/DGHDRtoSDR_1.2/x64/DGHDRtoSDR.dll")
DGHDRtoSDR(impl="255",tm="gamma",light=40,gamma=0.40)
prefetch(16)
Images are resized to 1280x720 at 8 bits
HDRtoSDR 1-1
hdrtosdr 1-1.bmp
SDR 1-1
sdr 1-1.bmp
HDRtoSDR 1-2
hdrtosdr 1-2.bmp
SDR 1-2
sdr 1-2.bmp
HDRtoSDR 1-3
hdrtosdr 1-3.bmp
SDR 1-3
sdr 1-3.bmp
More samples can be quickly obtained if needed/desired
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by admin »

dmcs wrote:
Tue May 22, 2018 3:54 pm
I've got this weird green thing when using Hable in the latest DGHDRtoSDR_1.2.
That's weird. Can I get your unprocessed source sample that produces this? I can't make it happen with my samples. Thank you.

EDIT: OK, I have a sample that shows it. It would still be great to get yours. It doesn't fail with impl="sw" for me, BTW. Investigating...
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by admin »

Thanks for the testing, gonca!
DAE avatar
Guest

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by Guest »

For comparison
Speed of script is over 128 FPS
DAE avatar
Guest

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by Guest »

admin wrote:
Tue May 22, 2018 4:09 pm
Thanks for the testing, gonca!
The results with gamma look very good to me, might need a dash higher brightness.
But to be honest, no one approach with one set of default settings will be perfect for every source.
Right now we have gamma, Hable, and if the "old" plugin works, Reinhart
It takes very little time to create a script, and index a movie in order to load it into VDub
Then we can adjust settings, or approach, quickly until we get our desired results.
After all, a lot of this is subjective
Set it up to get the results you like
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by admin »

dmcs wrote:
Tue May 22, 2018 3:54 pm
I've got this weird green thing when using Hable in the latest DGHDRtoSDR_1.2.
Please re-download and test again. Should be fixed.

Thanks for pointing this out. :salute:
DAE avatar
dmcs
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 9:40 pm

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by dmcs »

admin wrote:
Tue May 22, 2018 4:30 pm
Please re-download and test again. Should be fixed.

Thanks for pointing this out. :salute:
Yay!!! So, may I ask what was that? :)
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by admin »

I forgot to clip the RGB to >= 0 after the Hable step.
DAE avatar
Narkyy
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 11:51 pm

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by Narkyy »

Can the Hable parameters be changed with the new plugin? I'm not sure if I missed something in the readme or not.
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by admin »

Yes. Use parameters exp, a, b, c, d, e, f, and white.

The document mentions w but it should be white. I'll fix that now.
DAE avatar
Narkyy
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 11:51 pm

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by Narkyy »

Ah yeah, I should've tried more than just w :)
Thanks!
DAE avatar
Guest

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by Guest »

Had some time so I ran another test
Same settings and conditions as before

HDRtoSDR2-1
hdrtosdr 2-1.bmp
SDR 2-1
sdr 2-1.bmp
HDRtoSDR 2-2
hdrtosdr 2-2.bmp
SDR 2-2
sdr 2-2.bmp
HDRtoSDR 2-3
hdrtosdr 2-3.bmp
SDR 2-3
sdr 2-3.bmp
DAE avatar
Guest

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by Guest »

Same samples with one change in settings

Code: Select all

LoadPlugin("C:/Program Files (Portable)/dgdecnv/x64 Binaries/DGDecodeNV.dll")
DGSource("D:\#test\#hdr\hdr 2.dgi", fieldop=0, fulldepth=True)
LoadPlugin("C:/Program Files (Portable)/AVS Templates/DGHDRtoSDR/x64/DGHDRtoSDR.dll")
DGHDRtoSDR(impl="255",tm="gamma",light=45,gamma=0.40)
prefetch(16)
HDRtoSDR 2-1-2
HDRtoSDR 2-1.bmp
HDRtoSDR 2-2-2
HDRtoSDR 2-2.bmp
HDRtoSDR 2-3-2
HDRtoSDR 2-3.bmp
DAE avatar
Narkyy
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 11:51 pm

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by Narkyy »

Noticed the same as I can see in your tests, highlights seem to clip to 235 a bit early with tm="gamma"
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by admin »

Thank you, gonca! Very useful as always.

What would really help would be suggestions for better default parameters. I've pretty much picked them arbitrarily, so any guidance from these real use cases would be valuable for setting them more appropriately. Ideally, each mode would work pretty fine out of the box, although tweaking may be required for some sources.

On another matter, does anyone have any 12-bit HDR sources? I know they are possible in theory but I haven't seen any in practice.
DAE avatar
Guest

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by Guest »

For better default settings would be an easy task, but
I can pick an image and vary one setting at a time but it would require some input from others with suggestions, since this a subjective case
DAE avatar
Guest

Re: HDR -> SDR tonemapping

Post by Guest »

Okay, let's start
All samples resized to 1280 x 720 at 8 bits
SDR
sdr 3.bmp
light=40,gamma=0.40
light=40,gamma=0.40.bmp
light=40,gamma=0.45
light=40,gamma=0.45.bmp
light=45,gamma=0.40
light=45,gamma=0.40.bmp
Please feel free to suggest setting tweaks but let us keep it to one change per so we can better see the effects
If a different clip is desired please let me know the criteria, i.e. light colour etc
Post Reply