DGDecNV (linux)

DG tools for linux
Post Reply
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 1999
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

DGDecNV (linux)

Post by Rocky »

DJATOM mentioned over at Doom9 that DGIndexNV can be run through wine, so only DGDecodeNV needs to be ported. That should be much easier as DGDecodeNV does not heavily use win32 API. So my questions now for DJ are:

1. What linux distribution do you recommend for me to use?

2. Would you prefer Vapoursynth or Avisynth+ support initially?
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 1999
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

DGDecNV on Linux

Post by Rocky »

Info in PM from DJATOM:

-----
>But if a DGDecodeNV port by itself is useful, then that is a real possibility.
Yes, it will be.
>What linux distribution do you recommend for me to begin such a project?
I believe it's easy to install and develop on Debian. It's user-friendly, but allows more freedom compared to Ubuntu. As experienced Linux user, I'm using ArchLinux as second OS. It has obscure installation instruction, which took near 4 hours for me to complete, but it's "a rolling release OS". You have most up-to-date system with recent drivers, features, etc. Debian and Ubuntu has frozen software versions in their repositories, but good point is that software well-tested and should have less bugs. I'm using Debian as host OS on my home server and also satisfied with it's stability. I think targeting your binaries to Debian 9 or 10 will make them work on most modern Linux distros.
>And are you favoring Vapoursynth or Avisynth+ for linux?
Vapoursynth is preferred.
You are free to ask any Linux-related or Linux compilation-related questions if you will have any ;)
-----

Great, thank you. Let's continue things in this thread.
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 1999
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

DGDecNV on Linux

Post by Rocky »

Just ordered a full Debian 10.8 on 16 DVDs. Whee!
User avatar
DJATOM
DG Approved/Moose Approved
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2015 6:14 pm

DGDecNV on Linux

Post by DJATOM »

I usually pick netboot iso to install minimal desirable system and then installing extra stuff. Netboot iso is about 250-350 MB size, it's can easily fit onto Flash Drive (you can "burn" iso with rufus).
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 1999
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

DGDecNV on Linux

Post by Rocky »

I'm just an aging squirrel so I go for the easiest way.
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 1999
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

DGDecNV on Linux

Post by Rocky »

DJATOM, any guidance on making a dual boot Linux/Win 10 install? I have the disks in hand and I'll buy an extra SSD for Linux tomorrow.

Curly and Wonder Woman are working on the garbage skipping stuff. Sherman is freaked out about counterfactual definiteness, so don't expect much from that direction. Albert is trying to straighten him out. Physics (reality) isn't derived from logic; at some point you have to accept that some things are just because they are.
User avatar
DJATOM
DG Approved/Moose Approved
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2015 6:14 pm

DGDecNV on Linux

Post by DJATOM »

I just use different SSDs for win10 and linux. Both uses uefi boot. Windows ssd is the first one in boot device priority and using F8 (I have an Asus mainboard) key i'm selecting Linux drive to boot. But literally both windows 10 and Linux can be installed on the same drive, you just need to configure partitions properly. With separate drives you can apply auto partitioning and it will make all stuff for you. Just be sure to select proper device to write mbr boot sector if you willing to use mbr partitioning (you can choose it at DVD boot time: loading uefi mode will force uefi installation, while loading mbr disk mode will force mbr-way installation).
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 1999
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

DGDecNV on Linux

Post by Rocky »

Thank you, DJ. When do you hit F8? I have an ASUS too but I have to go F2 for BIOS first and then I can select the boot drive.
User avatar
DJATOM
DG Approved/Moose Approved
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2015 6:14 pm

DGDecNV on Linux

Post by DJATOM »

I'm "spamming" F8 when display turned on first time.
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 1999
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

DGDecNV on Linux

Post by Rocky »

That works. ;)
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 1999
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

DGDecNV on Linux

Post by Rocky »

@DJ

What system backup solution do you recommend for linux? I'm used to Macrium Reflect but it works only on Windows.

EDIT: Looks like I can just boot into windows and backup the linux partitions from there using Macrium.
User avatar
DJATOM
DG Approved/Moose Approved
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2015 6:14 pm

DGDecNV on Linux

Post by DJATOM »

Either you can use rsync to copy certain directories onto remote host in realtime (it's mostly good for backups of sensitive realtime data such as sites or programming projects (maybe private Gitlab repository is better tool for the task)) or make periodic backups in offline mode with any suitable tool. I'm using Acronis True Image OEM which was shipped with my Kingston SSDs.
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 1999
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

DGDecNV on Linux

Post by Rocky »

Thank you, DJ, for the information. I'm just going to do offline backups with Macrium Reflect under Win10. I can use DiskGenius to browse the ext file system if needed.

So, OK, I have a linux system running. Now it's on to NVDec for Linux.
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 1999
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

DGDecNV on Linux

Post by Rocky »

Went to install Debian on the 7700K/2080 Ti system and it fails boot with an unintelligible "nouveau" error code. Apparently, nouveau (whatever it is) doesn't support 2080 Ti, at least in the disk set I have.

Everything worked on my 1080 Ti system, so maybe I'll swap out the card.

Anybody want to suggest a different distribution that can actually work with latest hardware?

EDIT: Boots fine with a 1050 Ti installed. :?:
User avatar
DJATOM
DG Approved/Moose Approved
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2015 6:14 pm

DGDecNV on Linux

Post by DJATOM »

I know that feel. The solution is to grab proprietary driver fron nvidia site and blacklist noveau driver after installation. I did that a while ago, maybe now driver do that "blacklist" thing automatically? :scratch:
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 1999
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

DGDecNV on Linux

Post by Rocky »

It's stupid.

I have my 1050 Ti OK. But the mouse is so jerky/laggy now everything is unusable. Gotta do a research project on mouse support? Get Out of This Town.
User avatar
gonca
DG Approved/Curly Approved/Moose Approved
Posts: 1143
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 6:12 pm

DGDecNV on Linux

Post by gonca »

User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 1999
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

DGDecNV on Linux

Post by Rocky »

Disabled wayland stuff and mouse is OK.

Gonna stick with Debian for now and the 1050 Ti, at least long enough to get DGDemux ported. Then I will re-consider to get CUDA/CUVID stuff ported.
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 1999
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

DGDecNV on Linux

Post by Rocky »

I built a hello.c program with gcc and successfully ran it. I'm a stud, I tell ya.

Now gotta find a way to get DGDemux source code onto the machine.
User avatar
DJATOM
DG Approved/Moose Approved
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2015 6:14 pm

DGDecNV on Linux

Post by DJATOM »

I'm using Visual Studio Code on my ArchLinux installation, you probably can install it on Debian (I didn't tried myself), deb file can be downloaded here: https://code.visualstudio.com/download
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 1999
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

DGDecNV on Linux

Post by Rocky »

Yeah, I saw some stuff about that. But ya know, getting away from Micro$oft can't be a bad thing. Maybe for IDE/debugging, etc., it could be useful. Let's see.

Thank you, DJ, for your encouragement, support, and valuable information!
User avatar
gonca
DG Approved/Curly Approved/Moose Approved
Posts: 1143
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 6:12 pm

DGDecNV on Linux

Post by gonca »

PS: Don't know how we ever lived without RGB lighting on the machines.
It isn't that bad
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 1999
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

DGDecNV on Linux

Post by Rocky »

gonca wrote:
Fri May 07, 2021 3:47 pm
PS: Don't know how we ever lived without RGB lighting on the machines.
It isn't that bad
The lights change color on their own. It's amazing! Hmm, does it waste CPU, or is it in firmware?
User avatar
gonca
DG Approved/Curly Approved/Moose Approved
Posts: 1143
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 6:12 pm

DGDecNV on Linux

Post by gonca »

Rocky wrote:
Fri May 07, 2021 7:47 pm
gonca wrote:
Fri May 07, 2021 3:47 pm
PS: Don't know how we ever lived without RGB lighting on the machines.
It isn't that bad
The lights change color on their own. It's amazing! Hmm, does it waste CPU, or is it in firmware?
Sounds like your are on default (no software control)
What motherboard do you have?
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 1999
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

DGDecNV on Linux

Post by Rocky »

Gigabyte Z590 Aorus Ultra.

The only bad thing about the lights is that we have to close the office door at night, otherwise Bullwinkle loses sleep. Doesn't bother me. Sweetie Pie was upset at first but I think she's over it.
Post Reply