DGDecIM section

Anything related to video and my tools that is not a support request.
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: DGDecIM section

Post by admin »

Thanks for the results, Zathor! I will make it fall back to SW if HW is not available, although I thought I had coded it that way. :oops: Could well be a
:bug:

Also, I will make a version with the ability to suppress the pop-up as you requested.
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: DGDecIM section

Post by admin »

Zathor, please re-download b50 and update dgdecodeim.dll.

You should find that it works for engine=0, engine=2, or engine not specified, but not for engine=1 (because you do not have appropriate HW).

To suppress the popup, include silent=true on the filter parameters.

If you advise that things are working, I will update the 64-bit version as well.
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: DGDecIM section

Post by admin »

I went ahead and updated the 64-bit version. Your feedback on the changes will be appreciated.
DAE avatar
Zathor
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 5:06 am

Re: DGDecIM section

Post by Zathor »

admin wrote:Zathor, please re-download b50 and update dgdecodeim.dll.
You should find that it works for engine=0, engine=2, or engine not specified, but not for engine=1 (because you do not have appropriate HW).
Yes, it works now without engine specified and with engine=0 :D Thanks!
admin wrote:To suppress the popup, include silent=true on the filter parameters.
Sadly this does not work :oops:
I have tried it e.g. with

Code: Select all

DGSourceIM("D:\MeGUI\_SAMPLE_VIDEOS\test.h264", engine=0, silent=true)
Btw is this message box a functionality of the exe or the dll as only the dll is renewed in the zip file.
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: DGDecIM section

Post by admin »

Thanks for the testing, Zathor.

Hmm, that's funny that silent=true isn't working. I'll look into that right away.

It's a function of the DLL.
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: DGDecIM section

Post by admin »

I just downloaded and tested and it works for me. I did have a bad version up there a day or two ago. Can you please check the date on DGDecodeIM.dll and make sure it was built on 4-26 9:15am and if not, then clear cache and re-download? Thanks.
DAE avatar
Zathor
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 5:06 am

Re: DGDecIM section

Post by Zathor »

I have downloaded the file two hours ago but at the moment I have no access anymore to this machine. Maybe in ~20 hours I can check the time stamp of the dll. So the message box is in the dll? I assumed that it is the in the exe.
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: DGDecIM section

Post by admin »

What does the popup say? Maybe there is one coming from the EXE that I am not seeing for some reason.

The DLL checks for the DGI file and if it is not there it starts the indexer exe and pops up a message saying that the indexing is started (when silent=false).
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: DGDecIM section

Post by admin »

Oy, never mind, I found the problem. I will re-upload a fixed one and notify here ASAP. :oops:
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: DGDecIM section

Post by admin »

OK, all fixed. Please re-download and update the DLL.

Thank you for your patience. :D
DAE avatar
Zathor
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 5:06 am

Re: DGDecIM section

Post by Zathor »

No popup anymore - thanks!
Now it is time to integrate it. May need a while as I am not so fast as you are :(
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: DGDecIM section

Post by admin »

Zathor wrote: I am not so fast as you are :(
I'm not so sure about that. It's just that now that I am retired I can jump on things right away. No boss telling me what to do. :lol:

Take your time and thank you for your work.
DAE avatar
Zathor
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 5:06 am

Re: DGDecIM section

Post by Zathor »

Finally I have it up and running in MeGUI. While implementing I noticed these things:
- DGIndexNV writes in line 4 of the DGI file the absolute path information while DGIndexIM write relative paths (absolute if on another drive)
- When audio is to be demuxed DGIndexIM removes the file extension in the path while DGIndexNV does not:
e.g. videofile.dgi PID 13f2 2_0ch 48KHz 448Kbps DELAY 97ms.ac3
- I can use the hardware mode of DGIndexIM even when only logged on with RDP - DGIndexNV does not work in such an environment :D
- DGIndexNV stalled when a license.txt was available without proper license in it. I clicked on the error window but I had to kill the process. Did not tried that with DGIndexIM.

Btw no need to change anything regarding the first two points. I implemented switches in the code to take into account these differences. Thanks again!
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: DGDecIM section

Post by admin »

Thank you for the feedback, Zathor!
Zathor wrote:Finally I have it up and running in MeGUI. While implementing I noticed these things:
- DGIndexNV writes in line 4 of the DGI file the absolute path information while DGIndexIM write relative paths (absolute if on another drive)
You can control that with the setting Full_Path_In_Files in the DGDecIM.ini file. It defaults to 0. It is controllable by the DGIndexNV GUI, but DGIndexIM has no GUI.
- When audio is to be demuxed DGIndexIM removes the file extension in the path while DGIndexNV does not:
e.g. videofile.dgi PID 13f2 2_0ch 48KHz 448Kbps DELAY 97ms.ac3
That's strange. I have never seen DGI in the audio filename like that. Can you double check this, using DGIndexNV directly?
- I can use the hardware mode of DGIndexIM even when only logged on with RDP - DGIndexNV does not work in such an environment :D
Interesting!
- DGIndexNV stalled when a license.txt was available without proper license in it. I clicked on the error window but I had to kill the process. Did not tried that with DGIndexIM.
You mean an empty license file? Or just a wrong license? Please give me a license file that causes this, because I cannot duplicate it. Thank you.
DAE avatar
Zathor
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 5:06 am

Re: DGDecIM section

Post by Zathor »

- When audio is to be demuxed DGIndexIM removes the file extension in the path while DGIndexNV does not:
e.g. videofile.dgi PID 13f2 2_0ch 48KHz 448Kbps DELAY 97ms.ac3
That's strange. I have never seen DGI in the audio filename like that. Can you double check this, using DGIndexNV directly?
I cannot reproduce it anymore. Maybe I have mixed this up with DGAVCIndex. Sorry :oops:
- DGIndexNV stalled when a license.txt was available without proper license in it. I clicked on the error window but I had to kill the process. Did not tried that with DGIndexIM.
You mean an empty license file? Or just a wrong license? Please give me a license file that causes this, because I cannot duplicate it. Thank you.
license.txt was from the year 2010 with one line in it. I start DGIndexNV with:

Code: Select all

"dgindexnv.exe" -i "D:\_TEST\video.mkv" -o "D:\TEMP\tllbe550.sdj\video.dgi" -e -h
I click on the "Invalid license" popup but then the process does not close itself. I have to kill it as otherwise I cannot replace the locked license.txt file.
DAE avatar
Zathor
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 5:06 am

Re: DGDecIM section

Post by Zathor »

And some benchmarks measured with AVSMeter:

Machine 1:
1: DGIndexNV (377 fps)
2: L-SMASH (146 fps)
3: FFMS2 (125 fps, threads=0)
4: FFMS2 (40 fps, threads=1)
5: DGIndexIM (30 fps, SW engine)

Machine 2:
1: DGIndexIM (273 fps, HW engine)
2: L-SMASH (229 fps)
3: FFMS2 (191 fps, threads=0)
4: FFMS2 (55 fps, threads=1)
5: DGIndexIM (43 fps, SW engine)

Machine & source specs does not matter so much. More important is the order of the indexer plugins. Sadly I do not have currently a machine wich is capable of DGIndexNV + DGIndexIM HW. But based on the numbers I guess that DGIndexNV is on the top.
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: DGDecIM section

Post by admin »

After you dismiss the license popup you can't close DGIndexNV normally? I can't duplicate that.

EDIT: Ooh, never mind, I just noticed you use CLI. Investigating...
DAE avatar
WorBry
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 11:21 pm

Re: DGDecIM section

Post by WorBry »

I'm happy to report that DGIndexIM (50) is working fine here in MeGUI 2557 on my PC - Win7 64-bit, AMD-FX6300 processor - so SW engine only. Just ran a few tests with some AVCHD camcorder (1080/30p) mts clips, I'm seeing an indexing rate of around 720 fps. I haven't compared decode/AVS output rates empirically (AVS Meter). Yes, served to VDub, DGSourceIM plays a bit more sluggishly than L-Smash (LWLibavVideoSource), but I'm not really bothered. My primary use is for transcoding mts clips to a lossless intermediate for editing, and there the limiting factor is the encode rate. I'm just happy that I can now generate the AVS script automatically without having to copy paste the source file path into a template script. Thanks to Zathor and Neuron2 for making this possible.
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: DGDecIM section

Post by admin »

Good to hear. Thanks for your information. Yes, IM software mode is not a stellar performer. But it is frame accurate. :lol:

Looks like we can retire DGAVCDecDI as the IM stuff is doing the job.
DAE avatar
WorBry
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 11:21 pm

Re: DGDecIM section

Post by WorBry »

admin wrote:...... But it is frame accurate
That's why I use it ;)
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: DGDecIM section

Post by admin »

I slipstreamed the fix for DGIndexNV failing to terminate when a bad license is found in CLI -e mode. DGIndexIM was not affected.
DAE avatar
Zathor
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 5:06 am

Re: DGDecIM section

Post by Zathor »

Thank you very much!
Do you plan to add also MVC support?
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: DGDecIM section

Post by admin »

Not to DGDecNV as it is not supported by CUVID. To DGDecIM, yes, at some point. For now there is DGMVCDec that runs on QuickSync (that is Intel Media SDK).
DAE avatar
aceado
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2015 8:54 am

Re: DGDecIM section

Post by aceado »

so today i was wanting to get a faster decoding fps than that which i can get from DGDecNV (vp5 ~130fps) so i remember that my old sandy bridge i7 2600k (3000hd) was able do double the speed which is great! however there's some bad news it seems.
i've upgraded to the latest skylake i7 6700k (hd 530) to find out it doesn't support hardware decoding in DGDecIM i think? :? however there's one thing i do wanna say i noticed is that i can use QSVEncC without any issues (at least for the hardware encoding side) whiles using DGDecNV.


p.s before you ask this happens to every single file i've tried and it doesn't matter if its 32bit or 64bit they both give the same issue of the app hanging and waiting :bug:
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: DGDecIM section

Post by admin »

Intel has not made a formal release of INDE supporting Skylake:

https://software.intel.com/en-us/forums ... pic/593838

However, they say you can have a try with media sdk version 6.0.0.388 but no guarantees. I currently use 6.0.0.349.

I will try in the next days to rebuild with 6.0.0.388 and give you a test build.
Post Reply