[RESOLVED] Could not create DiAVC decoder [55]!

Support forum for DGAVCDecDI
Deadeye
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2010 3:28 pm

[RESOLVED] Could not create DiAVC decoder [55]!

Post by Deadeye » Wed Jun 08, 2011 7:58 pm

I'm trying to get DGAVCDecDI working with DiAVC inside a VMware Workstation 7.1.4 virtual machine, but am hitting what appears to be a DiAVC licensing issue.

The reason for trying to get this running within a VM is to enable playing my AviSynth work on my various computers around the house. Set up the VM once and at least DiAVC should work, right? No, I don't expect the hardware accelerated decoder DGDecNV to work in a VM.

First I installed and registered DGAVCDecDI within the (Windows 7 x86 sp1) VM, then installed and registered DiAVC in the same folder as per the instructions. But when I run DGAVCIndexDI.exe and load a video clip, I get two error dialog boxes. One titled "Decoder open failure" says "Could not create DiAVC decoder [55]!". A moment later a second messagebox pops up saying "Invalid License!"

I contacted Hongbo Zhu (aka schweinsz) who tried to help, but now he insists the problem is within DGAVCDecDI, not his decoder. He demonstrated this by driving his decoder with a calling application he wrote that appears to work properly within the VM environment.

This is a little discouraging. Is running this setup within a VM reasonable? I understand the use-case is a little esoteric, but is there any possibility of fixing this issue?

Thanks in advance.

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3833
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: ERROR: Could not create DiAVC decoder [55]! (Invalid Lic

Post by admin » Wed Jun 08, 2011 8:16 pm

Hongbo is a smart cookie, and if he points to a DG issue then you can count on it. Your error message does indeed indicate a DG licensing issue. Please send me an email with your registered user ID, your machine ID, and the license.txt file that you created. We'll debug it after I verify your licensing is all A-OK.

Can I run this virtual thingie on my Win XP machine?

Deadeye
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2010 3:28 pm

Re: ERROR: Could not create DiAVC decoder [55]! (Invalid Lic

Post by Deadeye » Thu Jun 09, 2011 2:57 am

Ah, sure enough it turned out to be my mistake. I sent you & Hongbo an email with the details.

You might want to add a bone-head check in your code for license.txt.txt and throw up an appropriate error. :-P

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3833
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: ERROR: Could not create DiAVC decoder [55]! (Invalid Lic

Post by admin » Thu Jun 09, 2011 7:57 am

Deadeye wrote:You might want to add a bone-head check in your code for license.txt.txt and throw up an appropriate error. :-P
Better yet, I should accept both license.txt and license.txt.txt as the name of the license file.

Glad you are running OK now.

mctutilo
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 5:55 am

Re: [RESOLVED] Could not create DiAVC decoder [55]!

Post by mctutilo » Sun Feb 17, 2013 8:28 am

I have a similar problem.
I double checked the license.txt to be shure, that machine id is correct an the license code is with CRLF in the file. DiAVC.ax is also licensed and in the same directory as well as in the DiAVCSetup folder. GSpot can find DiAVC.ax and it seems to work correctly.
But after starting DGAVCIndexDI and opening (adding) a mkv file, an error message appears: Decoder open failure! Could not create DiAVC decoder! Quitting these messages DGAVCIndexDI is ending with any further comment.

As you can see in the licensing process, my license counter has incremented by one with the same data. But no success.

Thanks for giving an hint.

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3833
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: [RESOLVED] Could not create DiAVC decoder [55]!

Post by admin » Tue Feb 19, 2013 6:00 pm

Please send me an email with your registered user ID, your machine ID, and the license.txt file that you created. We'll debug it after I verify your licensing is all A-OK.

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3833
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: [RESOLVED] Could not create DiAVC decoder [55]!

Post by admin » Tue Feb 26, 2013 9:46 am

The license is correct for the machine ID, but the file you attached is named license18.txt. That is not correct.

Please post a screenshot of the error that you get. I ask because your reference to the error does not include the [55] so I am unsure which code got triggered.

Make sure that the machine ID is still what you think it is by checking the Help/About dialog. Make sure the license file is called license.txt (and not license.txt.txt).
Make sure the license file is in the same directory as DGAVCIndexDI.exe.

mctutilo
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 5:55 am

Re: [RESOLVED] Could not create DiAVC decoder [55]!

Post by mctutilo » Fri Mar 01, 2013 2:31 pm

You will find the directory list with the file license.txt. Further the screenshot with the error message during opening a file.
Attachments
bild-4.jpg
screenshot with the error message during opening a file
bild-4.jpg (124.25 KiB) Viewed 589 times

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3833
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: [RESOLVED] Could not create DiAVC decoder [55]!

Post by admin » Fri Mar 01, 2013 4:14 pm

That error indicates that DG licensing checks succeeded but the DiAVC decoder could not be created. The diavc.ax was loaded but the call to create an instance of the decoder failed.

This could be because you do not use the version of diavc.ax that was shipped with DGDecNV. Please search your system for instances of diavc.ax and make sure you have just one and that it is the one I shipped with DGDecNV.

If you verify that you are using the correct diavc.ax, then this has to be referred to DiAVC.

Specifically, this call is failing after the diavc.ax is successfully loaded and all function pointers are successfully found:

ll_create_h264decoder(pDsplFrm)

It is returning null instead of an instance handle.

mctutilo
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 5:55 am

Re: [RESOLVED] Could not create DiAVC decoder [55]!

Post by mctutilo » Sat Mar 02, 2013 10:54 am

Thanks for answering.
I would like to do it, but I cannot find the suitable diavc.ax neither in dgdecnv2044.zip nor in dgavcdecdi2038.zip loaded from your homepage. You are right, my diavc.ax is directly from the programmers homepage.

Post Reply