[RESOLVED] not able to feed the encoder

Support forum for DGDecNV
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3102
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: [RESOLVED] not able to feed the encoder

Post by admin » Thu Oct 05, 2017 8:09 pm

Three blind mice! :P

jpsdr
Distinguished Member
Distinguished Member
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2010 4:16 am

Re: [RESOLVED] not able to feed the encoder

Post by jpsdr » Fri Oct 06, 2017 2:15 am

Another thing not helping, it's that the button was withint the facebook and twitter advertisings.
Most of the time, on pages of hosted files, all the big download buttons like this in the middle of advertisings download a lot of things/crap, but never the file you're looking for...:evil:
Most of the time you have to look for a little text like this "File is here" lost in all the big download crap advertisings.
So, my brain automaticaly masked/rejected this big button...
Until after a search and not found, my brain decided to make me noticed it, and i realised putting the mouse over it (without clicking !) that the link was indeed the file !
By default, on this kind of pages, i never trust big "download" buttons.;)

gonca
Distinguished Member
Distinguished Member
Posts: 281
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 6:12 pm

Re: [RESOLVED] not able to feed the encoder

Post by gonca » Fri Oct 06, 2017 5:50 am

By default, on this kind of pages, i never trust big "download" buttons
I did a test download and played it, it seems clean

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3102
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: [RESOLVED] not able to feed the encoder

Post by admin » Fri Oct 06, 2017 9:54 am

It's not so much a matter of trusting the downloaded file as it is of trusting that the download button will actually deliver that file rather than some unwanted application. As jp pointed out, very often we see big prominent download buttons that deliver unasked-for things while a small hard-to-find button or link gives the file you are really after. OK, it's a business model that allows us to have free downloads. We just have to be careful.

gonca
Distinguished Member
Distinguished Member
Posts: 281
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 6:12 pm

Re: [RESOLVED] not able to feed the encoder

Post by gonca » Fri Oct 06, 2017 11:24 am

Yeah, I get that, but on my browser if I pause the cursor on the link it will display the url of the "download".
This helps with the I click or not decision
Same as the email client and links
But I do understand, the internet isn't so friendly anymore, and one has to take care with which websites they visit or links they click.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3102
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: [RESOLVED] not able to feed the encoder

Post by admin » Fri Oct 06, 2017 12:24 pm

Thanks for the link, Luis!

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3102
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: [RESOLVED] not able to feed the encoder

Post by admin » Fri Oct 13, 2017 3:18 pm

Good news, girls and boys!

I just updated to Nvidia driver version 387.92 and, lo-and-behold, the HEVC 10-bit decoding glitch issue appears to have been fixed. All of my test streams that showed the issue now run clean.

Thank you, nVidia.

@mparade

Your further testing would be helpful and appreciated. Chow!

gonca
Distinguished Member
Distinguished Member
Posts: 281
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 6:12 pm

Re: [RESOLVED] not able to feed the encoder

Post by gonca » Fri Oct 13, 2017 4:22 pm

Just did a quick test and it appears OK.

OT
My next system will require 2 video cards, I just did an encode with DGDecodeNV frame serving a 10 bit 4K HEVC video and NVEnc encoding on one video card and It did it at 2X playback speed (50 fps)
I might get 100 fps with two cards to split the work

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3102
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: [RESOLVED] not able to feed the encoder

Post by admin » Fri Oct 13, 2017 4:32 pm

Thank you for your confirmation, Luis. It feels really good to now have a fully functioning GPU-accelerated solution for UHD. Maybe I'll re-install Vapoursynth and try to figure out why it won't accept P016 from Avisynth+. I don't have any grudge against Vapoursynth, despite the nonsense that is thrown at me.

Regarding your dual GPU idea, how do you intend to pull that off? It seems to me you would have to break the stream into two and process them with multiple instantiations. Of course DGDecNV can't currently support any kind of transparent multiple-GPU parallelism. Maybe it should.

gonca
Distinguished Member
Distinguished Member
Posts: 281
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 6:12 pm

Re: [RESOLVED] not able to feed the encoder

Post by gonca » Fri Oct 13, 2017 5:08 pm

Well sir...
It would be reasonably easy
Your source filter ( and filters ) allow me to assign a video card to use ( int device or default first found)
NVEnc allows the same
DGSourceNV on first card... NVEnc on second card
Frame serving and preprocessing card 1/2
Encoding card 2/1

I will wait to see if the 20xx cards will have B frames to help with compressibility
Also want to see if AMDs Threadripper comes up with a 24 core CPU
Oy Vey, this is going to get expensive.... but you only live once and its only money, gotta have some fun along the way, and this is one of the ways.

Post Reply