Issue with path

Support forum for DGDecNV
User avatar
tormento
DG Approved/Moose Approved
Posts: 542
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 2:18 pm

Issue with path

Post by tormento »

Rocky wrote:
Thu Dec 23, 2021 8:47 am
Seems we can force any application to use UTF-8 this way.
Very nice indeed.
Rocky wrote:
Thu Dec 23, 2021 8:47 am
Notepad++
Try https://github.com/rizonesoft/Notepad3. I had no turning back :)
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 2172
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

Issue with path

Post by Rocky »

tormento wrote:
Thu Dec 23, 2021 9:53 am
Try https://github.com/rizonesoft/Notepad3. I had no turning back :)
What's more gooder compared to Notepad++?
User avatar
tormento
DG Approved/Moose Approved
Posts: 542
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 2:18 pm

Issue with path

Post by tormento »

Rocky wrote:
Thu Dec 23, 2021 10:04 am
What's more gooder about it compared to Notepad++?
Constant development and resolved issues on github. Nice authors too.
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 2172
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

Issue with path

Post by Rocky »

Hardly compelling but let's give it a try.
User avatar
thechaoscoder
Moose Approved
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2020 8:34 am

Issue with path

Post by thechaoscoder »

Seems like Notepad3 has not Tabs support... it's a deal breaker for me
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 2172
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

Issue with path

Post by Rocky »

That's very interesting. Let's talk about it. ;)

Almost without exception I prefer to have two text files open in different windows, because I am comparing the contents of two versions, or I want to copy things over between two different files. When there are two tabs in the same window I can't see both of them at the same time, and it's awkward to keep switching between them. I suppose the use case for tabs is when you use Notepad++ as a sort of IDE, for example, opening a lot of different source files. Is that your use case, thechaoscoder? Well, I always use Visual Studio for that.

With that said, it is quite easy to make Notepad++ automatically open files in different windows. Or, you can move a tab out of the current window by simply dragging it outside the window.

So I am wondering, what are the advantages, if any, of Notepad3 versus Notepad++?
User avatar
thechaoscoder
Moose Approved
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2020 8:34 am

Issue with path

Post by thechaoscoder »

I have already enough explorer windows open so I don't need more windows :lol:

Why I prefer tabs in notepad++
- Saves space in windows taskbar
- I use the Diff plugin where I can compare 2 tabs
- Even unsaved tabs are kept when I close/open notepad++ (I sometimes use tabs for notes or just for tmp copy paste stuff)

Are you using tabs in your browser? why? Because they are convenient ;)

If one only uses 1-2 tabs notepad3 is sufficient.
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 2172
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

Issue with path

Post by Rocky »

That all sounds very reasonable. I'll stick with Notepad++.
User avatar
tormento
DG Approved/Moose Approved
Posts: 542
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 2:18 pm

Issue with path

Post by tormento »

New 239 .manifest is not working, at last here.

Replacing with latest 238 one makes UTF work again.
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 2172
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

Issue with path

Post by Rocky »

Did you read and follow the new document?

---
1 (recommended). First absorb the included registry key file PreferExternalManifest.reg into the registry.
Then delete 'DGIndexNV.exe.manifest' and recreate it as a copy of 'DGIndexNV.exe.UTF8.manifest'.
This forces DGIndexNV.exe to ask for the UTF-8 codepage.
---
User avatar
tormento
DG Approved/Moose Approved
Posts: 542
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 2:18 pm

Issue with path

Post by tormento »

Rocky wrote:
Tue Jan 18, 2022 8:06 am
Did you read and follow the new document?
Yes but I couldn't find DGIndexNV.exe.UTF8.manifest as when updating DGIndexNV I proceed by first sorting files by timestamp and then copying the latest ones.

DGIndexNV.exe.UTF8.manifest is from 25/01/2021 and I did not copy it.

Now that you are remarking the txt file, I redownloaded the zip and now I found it.

My 2 cents: touch the date of the file to have a recent one.

:salute:
User avatar
tormento
DG Approved/Moose Approved
Posts: 542
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 2:18 pm

Issue with path

Post by tormento »

It seems that not all the windows of DGIndex are Unicode aware.

If I drop the directory "Ispettore Callaghan 1 — il caso Scorpio è tuo", where "—" is ALT+0151 (at last on my regional settings), I get:

DirtyHarry.png
Plus there are some spurious character beside the "]" but I don't know if it is Unicode related or not.

Perhaps it's better to switch to Segoe UI font family or any other UTF complete font for dialogue windows.
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 2172
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

Issue with path

Post by Rocky »

Jeez, no rest for me. Please post a link to (or attach) any file whose name contains that character.
User avatar
tormento
DG Approved/Moose Approved
Posts: 542
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 2:18 pm

Issue with path

Post by tormento »

Rocky wrote:
Thu Mar 03, 2022 12:14 pm
Jeez, no rest for me.
:D
Rocky wrote:
Thu Mar 03, 2022 12:14 pm
Please post a link to (or attach) any file whose name contains that character.
Just rip a BD to a folder and rename it to "Ispettore Callaghan 1 — il caso Scorpio è tuo".

I think, anyway, that the issue is purely because the font you are using for that window doesn't have a complete unicode table. Try to replace with Segoe UI.
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 2172
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

Issue with path

Post by Rocky »

Confirmed that setting Segoe UI fixes it. I have to regression check everything with this font. Is this font our only option or are there others we should consider? If we use this font, we will lose some other characters?

You can hack around it for now by using ResourceHacker on the dialog.
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 2172
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

Issue with path

Post by Rocky »

Downside of Segoe UI is that it is variable width, which slightly messes up alignment in the Streams list. Not a big deal, though, we can live with it.
User avatar
tormento
DG Approved/Moose Approved
Posts: 542
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 2:18 pm

Issue with path

Post by tormento »

Rocky wrote:
Thu Mar 03, 2022 4:22 pm
Downside of Segoe UI is that it is variable width
I saw with Resource Hacker (nice hint) that you use different fonts.

For proportional ones, you can use Segoe UI, as it's now the Windows standard.

For the fixed one, you can use Consolas, included in Windows since Vista.

DGIndexNVConsolas.png

There are minor issues to fix but it's nice.

Otherwise you could leave freedom to the user to choose their beloved one.
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 2172
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

Issue with path

Post by Rocky »

Don't think we really need fixed for anything but will check. If not then we'll just go Segoe UI for everything.

Things changed to Segoe UI in windows at some point and I never noticed. :o
User avatar
tormento
DG Approved/Moose Approved
Posts: 542
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 2:18 pm

Issue with path

Post by tormento »

Rocky wrote:
Thu Mar 03, 2022 5:00 pm
Don't think we really need fixed for anything but will check.
I think that in the MPLS list and in the Demux dialogue it should be Consolas.

I can change every font but the streams in the Demux dialogue. Changing by Resource Hacker changes the "Enable demux processing only". This line could be Segoe UI but the streams should be Consolas.
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 2172
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

Issue with path

Post by Rocky »

tormento wrote:
Thu Mar 03, 2022 6:57 pm
I think that in the MPLS list and in the Demux dialogue it should be Consolas.
It's not so easy to have different fonts all over the place. I want to keep things SIMPLE.
I can change every font but the streams in the Demux dialogue. Changing by Resource Hacker changes the "Enable demux processing only".
That's because the font in there is set programmatically by the public domain Checked Listbox code that I adapted. I've been testing DGDemux with Segoe UI everywhere and it looks fine. As I said, there seems no need for fixed fonts anywhere.
This line could be Segoe UI but the streams should be Consolas.
See above.

Never should have told you about ResourceHacker. :facepalm:
User avatar
tormento
DG Approved/Moose Approved
Posts: 542
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 2:18 pm

Issue with path

Post by tormento »

Rocky wrote:
Thu Mar 03, 2022 7:05 pm
Never should have told you about ResourceHacker. :facepalm:
:D
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 2172
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

Issue with path

Post by Rocky »

Re-download 239 to get Segoe UI in DGIndexNV.

Can I ask you to use a new thread going forward for new issues? Thank you big t.
Post Reply