Page 13 of 19

Arbitrary output resolution

Posted: Tue May 14, 2019 7:44 am
by tormento
Perhaps I asked some months ago but it would be nice to have DGSource to output arbitrary resolution, using z.lib or other algorithm in CUDA.

I just sent a old 760 to RMA and they replaced it with a plain 1060, enabling me to decode HEVC in hardware. at least :)

Problem is the video card has 3 GB only and processing 4k with multithreaded OpenCL AviSynth plugins it's too demanding.

A 1920*1080 fast and accurate output from 4k source would be useful ;)

EDIT: just noticed rw, rh parameters... :oops: which method did you implement? Bilinear, Lanczos?

Re: Feature Requests

Posted: Tue May 14, 2019 9:45 am
by admin
I use the NVDec post-processor. I don't know for sure what algorithm NVDec uses. You are welcome to speculate.

3D support

Posted: Sat Jun 15, 2019 5:57 am
by tormento
I have tried to dig into html manual but had no hint.

Is there any 3D support? I mean, I really don't need it.

This last sentence needs explanation: a friend of mine gave me a 3D BD for free, as he doesn't own a 3D television and neither I do.

I'd like to be able to extract the 2D only to watch it and I know almost anything about 3D BD format.

The structure is m2ts and ssif subfolder.

Using eac3to, it finds me the movie mpls and it list left and right eye,

What will happen if I feed DGIndexNV with the mpls? Will it handle it correctly or better to import directly m2ts?

Re: Feature Requests

Posted: Sat Jun 15, 2019 9:58 am
by admin
I don't know what will happen (probably nothing good). Try it and let us know. ;)

The sanctioned way is to demux the ES and then use DGMVCSource() or FRIMSource().

Re: Feature Requests

Posted: Sun Jun 16, 2019 5:08 am
by tormento
admin wrote:
Sat Jun 15, 2019 9:58 am
Try it and let us know. ;)
I demuxed left eye with eac3to and fed to DGIndexNV,

Thanks god 3D is disappearing.

Re: Feature Requests

Posted: Sun Jun 16, 2019 10:30 am
by admin
Yes, I would expect that to work fine.

Re: Feature Requests

Posted: Wed Jul 10, 2019 12:51 am
by sparktank
Can we get an option to set a Default Save Location?
Say I want to consistently save projects in: "C:\Bin\Project" ?

Win10 isn't that great for getting to favorite locations.

Re: Feature Requests

Posted: Wed Jul 10, 2019 5:22 am
by admin
OK, you are the second person to ask for this, so I'll have a go at it.

Re: Feature Requests

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 9:04 pm
by sparktank
admin wrote:
Wed Jul 10, 2019 5:22 am
OK, you are the second person to ask for this, so I'll have a go at it.
woo.

Re: Feature Requests

Posted: Wed Jul 17, 2019 2:28 pm
by admin
Or maybe it was just you asking twice. :scratch:

Nevertheless, I have it working but it was not trivial so code review and regression testing may take a few days.

Note it applies only to GUI operations; CLI will not change.

Re: Feature Requests

Posted: Wed Jul 17, 2019 5:03 pm
by sparktank
:lol: Pretty sure it was me the first time.
Grateful for the efforts put into it. :mrgreen:

Re: Feature Requests

Posted: Wed Jul 17, 2019 9:50 pm
by admin
He he, if at first you don't succeed...

Re: Feature Requests

Posted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 11:56 am
by admin
I found the other guy. ;)

viewtopic.php?f=8&t=294

Re: Feature Requests

Posted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 2:55 pm
by gonca
Good things come to those who wait :D
P.S.
Good memory Don

Re: Feature Requests

Posted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 3:42 pm
by sparktank
Every bit counts!

Thanks for the update. Can't wait to try it out.

Re: Feature Requests

Posted: Sat Jul 27, 2019 10:44 am
by sparktank
The new feature for default save path is fantastic! Thanks a lot. :hat:

Re: Feature Requests

Posted: Sat Jul 27, 2019 2:17 pm
by admin
Glad you like it and thanks for pushing me a bit on it. ;)

Resize in crop panel

Posted: Tue Jul 30, 2019 5:54 am
by tormento
Can I ask you the feasibility to add a small slider, radio or whatever to pass rw and rh parameters from crop (& resize at this point) panel to AviSynth?

I find useful when you want to resize from 4k to 1080p or 720p for the vertical resolution height, the most commonly cropped.

Something like 1, 1/2 and 1/4 would me more than enought.

The masterpiece would be a slider aware of mod of resized resolution :)

Re: Feature Requests

Posted: Tue Jul 30, 2019 8:36 am
by admin
Request noted. Thank you.

Re: Feature Requests

Posted: Tue Aug 27, 2019 5:02 pm
by gonca
Seeing as how the option fulldepth= is now gone, would it be possible to have an option to deliver P016 all the time.
Use case
8 bit video is encoded at higher bit rates (10) to avoid banding in final result.
It actually saves only one line in script "ConvertBits(16)" but it would be nice to have, specially since your filters need either 16 or 8 bit inputs.

For 10 bit encode
8 bit input
ConvertBits(16)
Use your filters to preprocess
ConvertBits(10)
Encode

Re: Feature Requests

Posted: Tue Aug 27, 2019 9:26 pm
by admin
Very good points and very good questions. Thank you. All is possible and everything is on the table.

Re: Feature Requests

Posted: Tue Sep 10, 2019 9:53 pm
by Bullwinkle
Hello lovers of all that is rational and correct. Stuck in the handcuffs of Zoom. Randomness is beautiful and arbitrary window size is The Beauty. Throw off the handcuffs! And so confused specifying crop into script via dgindexnv but not resize who pointed that out? tormento. A fine collection of pixels he is for one to contemplate. But who are we to speculate?

Re: Feature Requests

Posted: Tue Sep 10, 2019 9:54 pm
by Rocky
Whee!

Re: Feature Requests

Posted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 10:31 pm
by Bullwinkle
Is synthesis the antithesis of Randomness? You could think about it. Here we have the definitive analysis. cudasynth must be absorbed into the mainline. We all die but try to postpone it. Now watch me.

Re: Feature Requests

Posted: Thu Sep 12, 2019 5:00 am
by DJATOM
Not to mention that mainline is avs+ nowadays, as 2.6 being dead for many years.