Page 1 of 3

DGDecNV and KNLMeans under Win10_x64

Posted: Sun Aug 30, 2015 7:54 am
by Guest 2
Hi have a strange problem using together DGDecNV and KNLMeans under Windows 10 x64. The hardware is the same like under Windows 8.1 x64 where everything worked perfectly.

(latest developer drivers installed)

The following script

Code: Select all

SetMTMode(5)
SetMemoryMax(2048)
LoadPlugin("D:\eseguibili\media\DGDecNV\DGDecodeNV.dll")
DGSource("E:\in\2_01 favoloso mondo di Amelie, Il\favoloso.dgi")
CompTest(1)
ChangeFPS(last,last,true)
SetMTMode(2)
SMDegrain (tr=4,PreFilter=4,thSAD=400,contrasharp=false,refinemotion=false,plane=4,chroma=true,lsb=true,mode=6)
crashes miserably (prefilter 4 means use KNLMeans).

The following:

Code: Select all

LoadPlugin("D:\eseguibili\media\DGDecNV\DGDecodeNV.dll")
DGSource("E:\in\2_01 favoloso mondo di Amelie, Il\favoloso.dgi")
KNLMeansCL()
gives me a green screen with CUDA ERROR on the upper left side.

Finally:

Code: Select all

LoadPlugin("D:\eseguibili\media\MeGUI\tools\lsmash\LSMASHSource.dll")
LWLibavVideoSource("F:\raw\favoloso mondo di Amelie, Il.mkv")
#deinterlace
crop(0, 128, 0, -134)
#resize
#denoise
CompTest(1)
ChangeFPS(last,last,true)
SetMTMode(2)
SMDegrain (tr=4,PreFilter=4,thSAD=400,contrasharp=false,refinemotion=false,plane=4,chroma=true,lsb=true,mode=6)
Works ok.

There must be some incompatibility between DGDecNV that uses CUDA and KNLMeans that uses OpenCL.

Any idea?

Re: DGDecNV and KNLMeans under Win10_x64

Posted: Sun Aug 30, 2015 8:07 am
by admin
Maybe your grahics card does not have enough memory. What is it and how much memory does it have?

Re: DGDecNV and KNLMeans under Win10_x64

Posted: Sun Aug 30, 2015 9:12 am
by Guest 2
admin wrote:Maybe your grahics card does not have enough memory. What is it and how much memory does it have?
Look http://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/details.php?id=vu7kg

Why was everything working ok in Win 8.1_x64? Moreover video engine and memory usage have a small increase at the launch of the encoding and then goes to zero.

Re: DGDecNV and KNLMeans under Win10_x64

Posted: Sun Aug 30, 2015 9:21 am
by admin
If it was working on Win8.1 then it is a question for Microsoft or nVidia. I would start at nVidia's CUDA Zone forum.

About all I can do is try to reproduce it to see if I can get a more helpful error description.

What version of Avisynth do you use? A link to it would be helpful.

Re: DGDecNV and KNLMeans under Win10_x64

Posted: Sun Aug 30, 2015 9:40 am
by Guest 2
Latest AviSynth 2.6MT on Doom9. MT disabled when testing.

The drivers are http://developer.download.nvidia.com/as ... tional.exe

Latest KNLMeans.

Re: DGDecNV and KNLMeans under Win10_x64

Posted: Sun Aug 30, 2015 10:05 am
by Guest 2
Even

Code: Select all

SetMTMode(5)
SetMemoryMax(2048)
LoadPlugin("D:\eseguibili\media\DGDecIM\DGDecodeIM.dll")
dgsourceim("E:\in\2_01 favoloso mondo di Amelie, Il\favoloso.dgi",engine=1)
crop(0, 128, 0, -134)
CompTest(1)
ChangeFPS(last,last,true)
SetMTMode(2)
SMDegrain (tr=6,PreFilter=4,thSAD=400,contrasharp=false,refinemotion=false,plane=4,chroma=true,lsb=true,mode=6)
works fine.

Re: DGDecNV and KNLMeans under Win10_x64

Posted: Sun Aug 30, 2015 5:37 pm
by admin
Great to hear that you have a work-around! :D

Re: DGDecNV and KNLMeans under Win10_x64

Posted: Sun Aug 30, 2015 6:11 pm
by Guest 2
admin wrote:Great to hear that you have a work-around! :D
:(

Re: DGDecNV and KNLMeans under Win10_x64

Posted: Wed Sep 02, 2015 11:35 pm
by sparktank
have you tried running KNLMeans with:

Code: Select all

KNLMeansCL(device_type="GPU", info=true)
? To confirm that it's using GPU?

Also, what format is the video?
I'm assuming it's the 2001 movie "Amélie" (re-titled in North America). BD/DVD source should be YV12 unless you converted it to something like YV24/10bit.

I've been noticing lately, that some movies I remux (BD source: YV12), that when I convert to YV24, it goes green and splits in the center.
(Have not had time to figure out how to make situation replicable.)
Try adding "ConvertToYV12(matrix="Rec709") at the end of the script and see what happens, if it's not already YV12 pixel_type.

Re: DGDecNV and KNLMeans under Win10_x64

Posted: Fri Sep 04, 2015 4:49 am
by Guest 2
sparktank wrote:have you tried running KNLMeans with:

Code: Select all

KNLMeansCL(device_type="GPU", info=true)
Yes
sparktank wrote:Also, what format is the video?
BD source, 1080p
sparktank wrote:Try adding "ConvertToYV12(matrix="Rec709") at the end of the script and see what happens, if it's not already YV12 pixel_type.
Tried, no effect.

I don't think it's a problem of format or color space but some incompatibility between KNLMeansCL, that uses OpenCL, and DGDecNV, that uses CUDA or CUVID, under Windows 10.

Re: DGDecNV and KNLMeans under Win10_x64

Posted: Fri Sep 04, 2015 3:45 pm
by sparktank
KNLMeansCL just got updated again, with enhanced error logs.
https://github.com/Khanattila/KNLMeansCL/releases

Maybe try again to see if it gives more details.

Have you tried re-installing NVidia drivers? "Fresh" install ?

I can't think of much for Nvidia + Win10.
Other than some DX9_interop was droppped, used in NNEDI3 (MadVR).
But not sure what could affect OpenCL.

Maybe create a new thread in Doom9 inquiring others that use Win10 what they're experience with Win10+OpenCL would be for NVidia.
Perhaps, there's an older driver or newer beta driver that works with OpenCL+KNLMeansCL.

Re: DGDecNV and KNLMeans under Win10_x64

Posted: Sat Sep 05, 2015 6:35 am
by Guest 2
sparktank wrote:KNLMeansCL just got updated again, with enhanced error logs.
Yes, 0.6.2, no way. :(
sparktank wrote:Have you tried re-installing NVidia drivers? "Fresh" install ?
Tried even developer one.
sparktank wrote:Other than some DX9_interop was droppped, used in NNEDI3 (MadVR).
No use for me.
sparktank wrote:Maybe create a new thread in Doom9 inquiring others that use Win10 what they're experience with Win10+OpenCL would be for NVidia.
OpenCL works perfectly, even with very heavy benchmarks. It's the binning with DGDecNV that gives me problems.

Neuron2, where are you? Any time for some testing?

Re: DGDecNV and KNLMeans under Win10_x64

Posted: Sat Sep 05, 2015 6:55 am
by Guest 2
With this script:

Code: Select all

SetMTMode(5)
SetMemoryMax(2048)
LoadPlugin("D:\eseguibili\media\DGDecIM\DGDecodeIM.dll")
DGSourceIM("E:\in\1_46 Don Camillo\camillo01.dgi",engine=1)
ChangeFPS(last,last,true)
crop(244, 0, -244, -8)
SetMTMode(2)
SMDegrain (tr=6,PreFilter=4,thSAD=400,contrasharp=false,refinemotion=false,plane=4,chroma=true,lsb=true,mode=6)
I get this

Image

With this even simpler one:

Code: Select all

LoadPlugin("D:\eseguibili\media\DGDecNV\DGDecodeNV.dll")
DGSource("E:\in\1_46 Don Camillo\camillo01.dgi")
crop(244, 0, -244, -8)
KNLMeansCL(device_type="GPU", info=true)
I get green preview with CUDA ERROR! text in upper left corner.

Re: DGDecNV and KNLMeans under Win10_x64

Posted: Sat Sep 05, 2015 7:06 pm
by sparktank
Ah, forget the clean install I asked on doom9. :lol:

What a curious case!

Have you tried to re-download DGdecNV ?
When updating, are all files replaced or just a few?

Re: DGDecNV and KNLMeans under Win10_x64

Posted: Sun Sep 06, 2015 11:31 am
by admin
@Guest 2

Sorry to report that everything works fine for me with this script:

loadplugin("dgdecodenv.dll")
loadplugin("knlmeanscl.dll")
dgsource("alba.dgi")
KNLMeansCL(device_type="GPU", info=true)

I have 64-bit everything on Win10. I use Avisynth+ r1825. GT 220 GPU. nVidia driver 341.81.

Did you notice that the blurb for KNLMeansCL says MT versions of Avisynth are not recommended?

Re: DGDecNV and KNLMeans under Win10_x64

Posted: Mon Sep 07, 2015 2:49 pm
by Guest 2
admin wrote:@Guest 2

Sorry to report that everything works fine for me with this script:

loadplugin("dgdecodenv.dll")
loadplugin("knlmeanscl.dll")
dgsource("alba.dgi")
KNLMeansCL(device_type="GPU", info=true)

I have 64-bit everything on Win10. I use Avisynth+ r1825. GT 220 GPU. nVidia driver 341.81.

Did you notice that the blurb for KNLMeansCL says MT versions of Avisynth are not recommended?
Is there some debug info I can send you?

Re: DGDecNV and KNLMeans under Win10_x64

Posted: Tue Sep 08, 2015 4:35 am
by Guest 2
I read in Blender forums that other people are having CUDA errors in Win10.
Blender uses CUDA 6.5, but it does not support win10 officially.
CUDA Toolkit 6.5
win10 should be supported by CUDA7.5RC.
nVidia Developer Zone

It does not think it's strange even if an error occurs in my opinion.
I put my Win8.1 disk back, same encoding configuration, and everything works OK.

I dunno if Nvidia is aware of these problems.

@Neuron2:

1) could you please ask your Nvidia insiders about Win10 CUDA or memory management?
2) I read you are using AviSynth+. Any problem with standard AviSynth?

Re: DGDecNV and KNLMeans under Win10_x64

Posted: Tue Sep 08, 2015 7:12 am
by admin
When nVidia releases a CUDA version that claims win10 support, I will upgrade to it. A problem I foresee is that likely earlier cards will no longer be supported. I have complained to nVidia about this and I don't want to maintain multiple versions so I don't know what will happen.

I am using 64-bit stuff. Does plain vanilla Avisynth have a 64-bit version?

Please provide links to the Blender postings of interest.

Re: DGDecNV and KNLMeans under Win10_x64

Posted: Tue Sep 08, 2015 11:21 am
by Guest 2
admin wrote:When nVidia releases a CUDA version that claims win10 support, I will upgrade to it.
Neither for a test version?
admin wrote:I am using 64-bit stuff. Does plain vanilla Avisynth have a 64-bit version?
Only fork and very old ones. AviSynth+ does but it's bugged as hell.
admin wrote:Please provide links to the Blender postings of interest.
https://developer.blender.org/T45987

In the meanwhile I am using DGDecIM but on a i7-2600k is slower than DGDecNV and the avs script runs at 5fps instead of 8fps.

Re: DGDecNV and KNLMeans under Win10_x64

Posted: Thu Sep 10, 2015 8:09 am
by admin
@Guest 2

I made a 64-bit test version with CUDA 7.5 for you. Please tell me the results.

http://rationalqm.us/misc/Guest 2_64.zip

Re: DGDecNV and KNLMeans under Win10_x64

Posted: Sat Sep 12, 2015 2:43 pm
by admin
Did you lose interest in this problem?

Re: DGDecNV and KNLMeans under Win10_x64

Posted: Mon Sep 14, 2015 4:32 am
by Guest 2
admin wrote:@Guest 2

I made a 64-bit test version with CUDA 7.5 for you. Please tell me the results.

http://rationalqm.us/misc/Guest 2_64.zip
I'll do a try with that ASAP.

I didn't lose interest, I had to work for 12 hours every day on last friday, saturday and sunday to solve a bad work problem.

As I wrote on doom9, my current encoding pipeline is 32bit, I need that version if possible ;)

Thanks for your work.

Re: DGDecNV and KNLMeans under Win10_x64

Posted: Mon Sep 14, 2015 7:37 am
by admin

Re: DGDecNV and KNLMeans under Win10_x64

Posted: Wed Sep 16, 2015 7:00 am
by Guest 2
As I wrote on Doom9, tried DGDecNV with another OpenCL plugin named nnedi3ocl however it's so old I can't set OpenCL GPU priority.

If I remove Intel GPU from bios and leave Nvidia only, it simply doesn't work, even with sw decoding.

Image

Now I'm going to install Nvidia developer drivers with Windows 10 and OpenCL extension support.

Edit: neither developer 355.97 does the magic. KNLMeansCL works perfectly without DGDecNV.

Re: DGDecNV and KNLMeans under Win10_x64

Posted: Wed Sep 16, 2015 7:05 am
by admin
"KNLMeansCL works perfectly without DGDecNV"

And DGDecNV works perfectly without KNLMeansCL?

For my system, they both work perfectly together.

Windows 10 64-bit
DGDecNV 2049 64-bit
KNLMeansCL 64-bit 0.6.2
GeForce GT 730
OpenCL 1.2
CUDA 355.82
Avisynth+ r1825