[RESOLVED] "ERROR: Failed to create CUDA contex" - DGDecNV 32bit

Support forum for DGDecNV
User avatar
Selur
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 3:49 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

[RESOLVED] "ERROR: Failed to create CUDA contex" - DGDecNV 32bit

Post by Selur »

Thought I posted about this yesterday but I can't find the post anymore. (sorry for the potential double post :), but this post includes more infomation)

Using a Geforce GTX 980 Ti on Windows 10 64bit with DGDecNV version 2052 (also tried 2051, 2050, 2049) 32bit I got the following problem:

When I start the DGDecNV.exe I get:

Code: Select all

ERROR: Failed to create CUDA context (999)

Hit Yes to continue notifying this specific error type; hit No to disable it.
Hit Cancel to suppress all further errors.
  • deleting my DGDecIndex.ini file didn't help
  • setting 'UseD3D' to 1 changed the error to 'ERROR: Failed to find CUDA-compatible D3D device.'
  • doing a clean driver install (resetting settings) didn't help (using NVIDIA driver version 378.49)
  • extracting DGDecNV into it's own folder away from any other dlls didn't helpt
running devideQuery gives me:
deviceQuery.exe Starting...

CUDA Device Query (Runtime API) version (CUDART static linking)

Detected 1 CUDA Capable device(s)

Device 0: "GeForce GTX 980 Ti"
CUDA Driver Version / Runtime Version 8.0 / 8.0
CUDA Capability Major/Minor version number: 5.2
Total amount of global memory: 6144 MBytes (6442450944 bytes)
(22) Multiprocessors, (128) CUDA Cores/MP: 2816 CUDA Cores
GPU Max Clock rate: 1114 MHz (1.11 GHz)
Memory Clock rate: 3505 Mhz
Memory Bus Width: 384-bit
L2 Cache Size: 3145728 bytes
Maximum Texture Dimension Size (x,y,z) 1D=(65536), 2D=(65536, 65536), 3D=(4096, 4096, 4096)
Maximum Layered 1D Texture Size, (num) layers 1D=(16384), 2048 layers
Maximum Layered 2D Texture Size, (num) layers 2D=(16384, 16384), 2048 layers
Total amount of constant memory: 65536 bytes
Total amount of shared memory per block: 49152 bytes
Total number of registers available per block: 65536
Warp size: 32
Maximum number of threads per multiprocessor: 2048
Maximum number of threads per block: 1024
Max dimension size of a thread block (x,y,z): (1024, 1024, 64)
Max dimension size of a grid size (x,y,z): (2147483647, 65535, 65535)
Maximum memory pitch: 2147483647 bytes
Texture alignment: 512 bytes
Concurrent copy and kernel execution: Yes with 2 copy engine(s)
Run time limit on kernels: Yes
Integrated GPU sharing Host Memory: No
Support host page-locked memory mapping: Yes
Alignment requirement for Surfaces: Yes
Device has ECC support: Disabled
CUDA Device Driver Mode (TCC or WDDM): WDDM (Windows Display Driver Model)
Device supports Unified Addressing (UVA): Yes
Device PCI Domain ID / Bus ID / location ID: 0 / 1 / 0
Compute Mode:
< Default (multiple host threads can use ::cudaSetDevice() with device simultaneously) >

deviceQuery, CUDA Driver = CUDART, CUDA Driver Version = 8.0, CUDA Runtime Version = 8.0, NumDevs = 1, Device0 = GeForce GTX 980 Ti
Result = PASS
Funny thing is that when I use the 64bit DGDecNV.exe the problem does not occur.

Creating the index file with the 64bit version and using the 32bit DGDecodeNV.dll and in Avisynth 32bit
Gives me first:
cuCtxCreate() failed.
then
Failed to create video decoder (201).
and then a green screen with 'CUDA error!' in the left upper corner.

Using Avisynth+ 64bit with 64bit DGDecNV.exe to generate the index file and using 64bit DGDecodeNV.dll during decoding works.
=> seems like only the 32bit version is having this issue.

Since I didn't have a problem with the older versions before and the 64bit version does work, I was wondering are you aware of any changes on NVIDIAs driver side that might cause problems with DGDecNV 32bit version? (Did NVIDIA may be drop 32bit support o 64bit sytems?)

Any thought on how to better trace the problem or ways to fix this are welcomed.
(not planning to use Avisynth+ 64bit or Aviynth 64bit)

Cu Selur
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: "ERROR: Failed to create CUDA contex" - DGDecNV 32bit

Post by admin »

Greetings, Selur. I hope you are well.

I'll try this on Win10 with 950 and see what happens. 32-bit worked fine on Win8.1 + 1050 Ti + DGDecNV 2052, and Win10 + 620 + 2052. Thanks for the queryDevice results; they are very helpful.

999 is "unknown error". :?:

I always recommend a full power-down reset. Please try it.

EDIT: Sorry, just saw you gave the driver version.
User avatar
Selur
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 3:49 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: "ERROR: Failed to create CUDA contex" - DGDecNV 32bit

Post by Selur »

Fine here thanks. :)

I restarted Windows, but that didn't help.

Deleted DGIndexNV.ini and restarted DGIndexNV and now it looks like this:

Code: Select all

Version=DGIndexNV 2052
Window_Position=100,100
Info_Window_Position=100,100
Process_Priority=2
Playback_Speed=3
AVS_Template_Folder=
AVS_Template_File=template.avs
AVS_Enable_Template=1
AVS_Overwrite=0
Full_Path_In_Files=1
MRUList[0]=
MRUList[1]=
MRUList[2]=
MRUList[3]=
Enable_Info_Log=1
Loop_Playback=0
AVC_Extension=264
MPG_Extension=m2v
VC1_Extension=vc1
HEVC_Extension=265
Deinterlace=0
UsePF=0
AlwaysCrop=1
UseD3D=0
Snapped=0
ResponseOnAudioMismatch=0
Enable_Audio_Demux=1
CUDA_Device=255
Decode_Modes=0,0,0,0
Full_Info=1
Bare_Demux=0
Disable_Encrypted_Audio_Warning=0
Fine_Cropping=0
Force_Zoom=0
error message still states:

Code: Select all

ERROR: Failed to create CUDA context (999)
Strange thing is that the 64bit version works.

Any ideas what what I could look into?

Cu Selur
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: "ERROR: Failed to create CUDA contex" - DGDecNV 32bit

Post by admin »

Let's first see if it appears to be an nVidia or DG problem. Get this nVidia sample application built for 32-bit:

http://rationalqm.us/misc/selur.rar

Unrar it into a folder. Open a CMD window in that folder and run this:

nvdecoded3d9 -i=plush.m2v -o=plush.yuv

Please try with and without -displayvideo.

If it fails please post the contents of the CMD window.

I have tested with 375.70 and 376.33. I will try your version later today.
User avatar
Selur
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 3:49 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: "ERROR: Failed to create CUDA contex" - DGDecNV 32bit

Post by Selur »

without '-displayvideo':

Code: Select all

NvDecodeD3D9.exe -i=plush.m2v -o=plush.yuv
Command Line Arguments:
argv[0] = NvDecodeD3D9.exe
argv[1] = -i=plush.m2v
argv[2] = -o=plush.yuv
[NVDecodeD3D9]: output file: [plush.yuv]
[NVDecodeD3D9]: input file:  [plush.m2v]
        VideoCodec      : MPEG-2
        Frame rate      : 30000/1001fps ~ 29.97fps
        Sequence format : Progressive
        Coded frame size: [1280, 720]
        Display area    : [0, 0, 1280, 720]
        Chroma format   : 4:2:0
        Bitrate         : 14116kBit/s
        Aspect ratio    : 16:9

Frame Rate Playback Speed = 60 fps
> Device 0: <GeForce GTX 980 Ti >, Compute SM 5.2 detected
  -> GPU 0: < GeForce GTX 980 Ti > driver mode is: WDDM

> Display Device: "NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 Ti" supports Direct3D9
> Using GPU Device 0: GeForce GTX 980 Ti has SM 5.2 compute capability
  Total amount of global memory:     4096.0000 MB
checkCudaErrors() Driver API error = 0999 "CUDA_ERROR_UNKNOWN" from file <NvDecodeD3D9.cpp>, line 417.
with '-displayvideo':

Code: Select all

NvDecodeD3D9.exe -displayvideo -i=plush.m2v -o=plush.yuv
Command Line Arguments:
argv[0] = NvDecodeD3D9.exe
argv[1] = -displayvideo
argv[2] = -i=plush.m2v
argv[3] = -o=plush.yuv
[NVDecodeD3D9]: output file: [plush.yuv]
[NVDecodeD3D9]: input file:  [plush.m2v]
        VideoCodec      : MPEG-2
        Frame rate      : 30000/1001fps ~ 29.97fps
        Sequence format : Progressive
        Coded frame size: [1280, 720]
        Display area    : [0, 0, 1280, 720]
        Chroma format   : 4:2:0
        Bitrate         : 14116kBit/s
        Aspect ratio    : 16:9

Frame Rate Playback Speed = 60 fps
> Device 0: <GeForce GTX 980 Ti >, Compute SM 5.2 detected
  -> GPU 0: < GeForce GTX 980 Ti > driver mode is: WDDM

> Display Device: "NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 Ti" supports Direct3D9
> Using GPU Device 0: GeForce GTX 980 Ti has SM 5.2 compute capability
  Total amount of global memory:     4096.0000 MB
checkCudaErrors() Driver API error = 0999 "CUDA_ERROR_UNKNOWN" from file <NvDecodeD3D9.cpp>, line 417.
DXDiag system info:

Code: Select all

------------------
System Information
------------------
      Time of this report: 2/4/2017, 16:53:08
             Machine name: .....
               Machine Id: .....
         Operating System: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (10.0, Build 14393) (14393.rs1_release.161220-1747)
                 Language: German (Regional Setting: German)
      System Manufacturer: ASUS
             System Model: All Series
                     BIOS: BIOS Date: 08/15/14 17:22:17 Ver: 16.03
                Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770K CPU @ 3.50GHz (8 CPUs), ~3.5GHz
                   Memory: 32768MB RAM
      Available OS Memory: 32634MB RAM
                Page File: 7661MB used, 24973MB available
              Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
          DirectX Version: DirectX 12
      DX Setup Parameters: Not found
         User DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
       System DPI Setting: 192 DPI (200 percent)
          DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
                 Miracast: Available, with HDCP
Microsoft Graphics Hybrid: Not Supported
           DxDiag Version: 10.00.14393.0000 64bit Unicode
could also give you the full DXDiag support in case it would help,...

Cu Selur
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: "ERROR: Failed to create CUDA contex" - DGDecNV 32bit

Post by admin »

OK, not a specific DG problem.

Do you have a single video adapter and is a monitor connected to it? Is there an Intel iGPU? Is this a laptop?

Can you please try a clean nVidia driver re-install. Check the little box for clean.

Did this ever work on this machine? If so, what was changed?
User avatar
Selur
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 3:49 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: "ERROR: Failed to create CUDA contex" - DGDecNV 32bit

Post by Selur »

Tried a clean already, didn't help.

Geforce GTX 980 Ti is connected to my HP Z27q IPS 5k Display (monitor) via two display port cables. (display is normally enabled)
AMD Radeon RX 460 is connected to my LG ULTRAWIDE GSM76E4 (monitor) via a display port cable. (display is normally enabled)
Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600 is connected to my Onky TX-SR508 (beamer) via HDMI. (beamer is normally disabled)

So all video adapters are connected to one monitor.
I got an Intel iGPU.
An my system is far from being a laptop, (80x80x80 cm acryl cube fully water cooled,... ;))

Cu Selur
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: "ERROR: Failed to create CUDA contex" - DGDecNV 32bit

Post by admin »

Please answer the last question too. Also which display is the primary one?

I'm afraid that if you want my help on this (not a specific DG issue) I have to ask you to temporarily remove the AMD card and disable the iGPU in BIOS. If it then works, we can try bringing them back one at a time and hopefully get some ideas. Yours seems far from a typical use case.

Nice system. :wow:
User avatar
Selur
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 3:49 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: "ERROR: Failed to create CUDA contex" - DGDecNV 32bit

Post by Selur »

Yes, DGDecNV did work fine a month ago or so. (haven't encoded a lot lately stuff that could be handled by DGDecNV)
Primary display is the 'HP Z27q IPS 5k Display' connected to the GeForce GTX 980 Ti.

Will report back once I removed the AMD card, disabled the Intel GPU and tested.
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: "ERROR: Failed to create CUDA contex" - DGDecNV 32bit

Post by admin »

What was changed since it worked last?

You should re-install drivers once again after removing the other adapters, just to be sure.

Awaiting your results...
User avatar
Selur
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 3:49 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: "ERROR: Failed to create CUDA contex" - DGDecNV 32bit

Post by Selur »

No clue what changed. (normal system updates happened, but nothing else that comes to mind; didn't install any new software apart from updates.)
---
Removed the AMD card physically from my pc.
Deleted DGIndexNV.ini. Tried DGIndexNV (32bit). Same error.
Deinstalled all Radeon software. Rebooted system.
Deleted DGIndexNV.ini. Tried DGIndexNV (32bit). Same error.
Ran AMD Cleanup utility, to make sure all AMD stuff was removed. Rebooted system.
Deleted DGIndexNV.ini. Tried DGIndexNV (32bit). Same error. Rebooted system.
Set 'iGPU Multi-Monitor' to disabled and checked that the primary graphic card was the PCIE card (it was) in the motherboard bios. Rebooted system.
Deleted DGIndexNV.ini. Tried DGIndexNV (32bit). Same error.
(Checked inside the device manager: only graphic card shown is the NVIDIA Geforce GTX 980 Ti)
Did another clean NVIDIA driver install (version 378.49). Rebooted system.
Deleted DGIndexNV.ini. Tried DGIndexNV (32bit). Same error.

So got only one monitor running and no sound (audio system is connected to the HDMI output of the Intel iGPU) and sadly DGDecNV (32bit) still isn't working. :(
The most confusing thing for me is that the 64bit version works (with Virtual Dub 64bit and Avisynth+ 64bit).

Cu Selur

Ps.: DGDecNV (32bit) did work end of last year when we fixed the issue I had then (viewtopic.php?f=8&t=530), my hardware setup didn't change since then. Only thing I know I did till then was a. install normal system and software updates b. redownload DGDecNV since I accidentally deleted the version I used before.
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: "ERROR: Failed to create CUDA contex" - DGDecNV 32bit

Post by admin »

Please use only the nVidia sample application for testing to eliminate anything DG and to allow for reporting this to nVidia. Can you please report on that in your final scenario? Thank you.

I'll set up a test with my 950 but it may take some time.

Yes, the 32 vs 64 thing confuses me too.
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: "ERROR: Failed to create CUDA contex" - DGDecNV 32bit

Post by admin »

No other GPU apps running at the same time? Folding? Anything?
User avatar
Selur
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 3:49 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: "ERROR: Failed to create CUDA contex" - DGDecNV 32bit

Post by Selur »

ran

Code: Select all

NvDecodeD3D9.exe -i=plush.m2v -o=plush.yuv
and

Code: Select all

NvDecodeD3D9.exe -displayvideo -i=plush.m2v -o=plush.yuv
both times I got the same output as before:

Code: Select all

Command Line Arguments:
argv[0] = NvDecodeD3D9.exe
argv[1] = -displayvideo
argv[2] = -i=plush.m2v
argv[3] = -o=plush.yuv
[NVDecodeD3D9]: output file: [plush.yuv]
[NVDecodeD3D9]: input file:  [plush.m2v]
        VideoCodec      : MPEG-2
        Frame rate      : 30000/1001fps ~ 29.97fps
        Sequence format : Progressive
        Coded frame size: [1280, 720]
        Display area    : [0, 0, 1280, 720]
        Chroma format   : 4:2:0
        Bitrate         : 14116kBit/s
        Aspect ratio    : 16:9

Frame Rate Playback Speed = 60 fps
> Device 0: <GeForce GTX 980 Ti >, Compute SM 5.2 detected
  -> GPU 0: < GeForce GTX 980 Ti > driver mode is: WDDM

> Display Device: "NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 Ti" supports Direct3D9
> Using GPU Device 0: GeForce GTX 980 Ti has SM 5.2 compute capability
  Total amount of global memory:     4096.0000 MB
checkCudaErrors() Driver API error = 0999 "CUDA_ERROR_UNKNOWN" from file <NvDecodeD3D9.cpp>, line 417.
Wild guess: Could this be somehow DirectX related? Since DxDiag shows 'DirectX 12' may be there was a DirectX update and the current version isn't compatible with D3D9?

Since this doesn't seem to be related to my other cards I'll put my AMD card back into my PC (so I can use my two monitors) and reenable the Intel GPU (so that I got sound). (same system setup worked end of last year)
Won't install the Radeon software though to make sure there isn't something related to the Radeon Software that is interfering.
Or do you think it would make sense to further wait till you could do your tests?

Cu Selur
User avatar
Selur
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 3:49 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: "ERROR: Failed to create CUDA contex" - DGDecNV 32bit

Post by Selur »

No other GPU apps running at the same time? Folding? Anything?
Nope nothing, made sure to even close firefox and thunderbird (so their hardware acceleration couldn't interfere) when running NvDecodeD3D9 and DGIndexNV.

Cu Selur
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: "ERROR: Failed to create CUDA contex" - DGDecNV 32bit

Post by admin »

Longshot: can you install CUDA Toolkit 8.0? Some DLL missing? If you can, use depends to see if all the DLLs needed by the sample app exist.

I doubt DX is involved. DGIndexNV uses no interoperability with Use_D3D=0.

Yes, go ahead and restore the adapters. Please keep NV primary for now. Thanks for taking the time to test it.
User avatar
Selur
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 3:49 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: "ERROR: Failed to create CUDA contex" - DGDecNV 32bit

Post by Selur »

Will download and install the CUDA Toolkit 8.0 once I got the adapters running again.
Will keep NV as primary (which it was anyways to no big change there).
Will report back once I got my system fully running again, installed the Toolkit and ran NvDecodeD3D9 again.
Thanks for taking the time to test it.
No need to thank me. I'm happy to get another person thinking about a possible solution. :)

Cu Selur
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: "ERROR: Failed to create CUDA contex" - DGDecNV 32bit

Post by admin »

Also, run GPU-Z and see if CUDA is checked at the bottom.
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: "ERROR: Failed to create CUDA contex" - DGDecNV 32bit

Post by admin »

Also, GPU Caps Viewer CUDA tab.
User avatar
Selur
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 3:49 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: "ERROR: Failed to create CUDA contex" - DGDecNV 32bit

Post by Selur »

Okay, so much for not installing the AMD Software, Windows itself installed the Radaon Software through Windows update.

Ran GPU-Z and output looks fine to me:
Image
attached the report of 'GPU Caps Viewer CUDA tab'

downloading ' CUDA Toolkit 8.0.44' now

Cu Selur
Attachments
gpu_caps_viewer_report.zip
GPU Caps Viewer report
(10.47 KiB) Downloaded 399 times
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: "ERROR: Failed to create CUDA contex" - DGDecNV 32bit

Post by admin »

Hmm, can you run CUDA-Z Performance tab? It actually runs a small CUDA app.

Also, why no PhysX? I think we should install that during the nVidia driver install.
User avatar
Selur
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 3:49 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: "ERROR: Failed to create CUDA contex" - DGDecNV 32bit

Post by Selur »

No clue why PhysX isn't there. (didn't dis- or enable anything during the installation aside from that a clean install should be used)
The normal NDVIDA settings app shows that the card is used for PhysX.
Hmm, can you run CPU-Z Performance tab? It actually runs a small CUDA app.
GPU-Z doesn't have a performance tab here (see screenshot from previous post)

Installed CUDA Toolkit 8.0.44 and ran

Code: Select all

vDecodeD3D9.exe -i=plush.m2v -o=plush.yuv
this time it did run and show a new window :D

Code: Select all

NvDecodeD3D9.exe -i=plush.m2v -o=plush.yuv
Command Line Arguments:
argv[0] = NvDecodeD3D9.exe
argv[1] = -i=plush.m2v
argv[2] = -o=plush.yuv
[NVDecodeD3D9]: output file: [plush.yuv]
[NVDecodeD3D9]: input file:  [plush.m2v]
        VideoCodec      : MPEG-2
        Frame rate      : 30000/1001fps ~ 29.97fps
        Sequence format : Progressive
        Coded frame size: [1280, 720]
        Display area    : [0, 0, 1280, 720]
        Chroma format   : 4:2:0
        Bitrate         : 14116kBit/s
        Aspect ratio    : 16:9

Frame Rate Playback Speed = 60 fps
> Device 0: <GeForce GTX 980 Ti >, Compute SM 5.2 detected
  -> GPU 0: < GeForce GTX 980 Ti > driver mode is: WDDM

> Display Device: "NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 Ti" supports Direct3D9
> Using GPU Device 0: GeForce GTX 980 Ti has SM 5.2 compute capability
  Total amount of global memory:     4096.0000 MB
>> modInitCTX<NV12ToARGB_drvapi_Win32.ptx > initialized OK
>> modGetCudaFunction< CUDA file:          NV12ToARGB_drvapi_Win32.ptx >
   CUDA Kernel Function (0x0b22c540) = <   NV12ToARGB_drvapi >
>> modGetCudaFunction< CUDA file:          NV12ToARGB_drvapi_Win32.ptx >
   CUDA Kernel Function (0x0b22ff60) = <     Passthru_drvapi >
> VideoDecoder::cudaVideoCreateFlags = <0>Default (VP)

cuvidCreateDecoder returned 0
> initCudaVideo()
  CUDA Streams (Enabled) <g_ReadbackSID = 0B35E1C8>
  CUDA Streams (Enabled) <g_KernelSID   = 0B35E218>
ImageDX::CUcontext = 07c27970
ImageDX::CUdevice  = 00000000
++++++++++++++++[NVDecodeD3D9] - [Frame: 0016, 00.0 fps, time: 160739.34 (ms) ]
++++++++++++++++[NVDecodeD3D9] - [Frame: 0032, 783.3 fps, time: 1.28 (ms) ]
++++++++++++++++[NVDecodeD3D9] - [Frame: 0048, 823.6 fps, time: 1.21 (ms) ]
++++++++++++++++[NVDecodeD3D9] - [Frame: 0064, 856.7 fps, time: 1.17 (ms) ]
++++++++++++++++[NVDecodeD3D9] - [Frame: 0080, 802.3 fps, time: 1.25 (ms) ]
++++++++++++++++[NVDecodeD3D9] - [Frame: 0096, 344.5 fps, time: 2.90 (ms) ]
++++++++++++++++[NVDecodeD3D9] - [Frame: 0112, 813.3 fps, time: 1.23 (ms) ]
++++++++++++++++[NVDecodeD3D9] - [Frame: 0128, 840.1 fps, time: 1.19 (ms) ]
++++++++++++++++[NVDecodeD3D9] - [Frame: 0144, 859.1 fps, time: 1.16 (ms) ]
++++++++++++++++[NVDecodeD3D9] - [Frame: 0160, 858.6 fps, time: 1.16 (ms) ]
++++++++++++++++[NVDecodeD3D9] - [Frame: 0176, 867.8 fps, time: 1.15 (ms) ]
++++++++++++++++[NVDecodeD3D9] - [Frame: 0192, 237.6 fps, time: 4.21 (ms) ]
++++++++++++++++[NVDecodeD3D9] - [Frame: 0208, 842.2 fps, time: 1.19 (ms) ]
++++++++++++++++[NVDecodeD3D9] - [Frame: 0224, 825.9 fps, time: 1.21 (ms) ]
++++++++++++++++[NVDecodeD3D9] - [Frame: 0240, 845.4 fps, time: 1.18 (ms) ]
++++++++++++++++[NVDecodeD3D9] - [Frame: 0256, 895.4 fps, time: 1.12 (ms) ]
++++++++++++++++[NVDecodeD3D9] - [Frame: 0272, 862.6 fps, time: 1.16 (ms) ]
++++++++++++++++[NVDecodeD3D9] - [Frame: 0288, 870.5 fps, time: 1.15 (ms) ]
++++++++++++++++[NVDecodeD3D9] - [Frame: 0304, 373.5 fps, time: 2.68 (ms) ]
++++++++++++++++[NVDecodeD3D9] - [Frame: 0320, 890.6 fps, time: 1.12 (ms) ]
+++++++
[NVDecodeD3D9] statistics
         Video Length (hh:mm:ss.msec)   = 00:00:00.492
         Frames Presented (inc repeats) = 326
         Average Present Rate     (fps) = 662.45
         Frames Decoded   (hardware)    = 327
         Average Rate of Decoding (fps) = 664.48
and DGIndexNV (32bit) also works!! :D

So question is what did the toolkit installed that wasn't present before?

Cu Selur
User avatar
Selur
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 3:49 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: "ERROR: Failed to create CUDA contex" - DGDecNV 32bit

Post by Selur »

Okay, since GeForce Experience just popped up I know at least the drivers changed.
The toolkit installed the 369.30 drivers and GeForce Experience now offers to upgrade to 378.49 again.
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: "ERROR: Failed to create CUDA contex" - DGDecNV 32bit

Post by admin »

I meant CUDA-Z performance tab. Edited above. :-)

I can only theorize that some needed DLL got clobbered during any of your recent system manipulations. It's going to be hard to see which now; that's why I hoped for the depends analysis.

Let it update the driver. If things stop working that tells us something and you can always downgrade. It may not be a clobbered DLL but simply a screwed-up driver version. This will show us which.

I don't like or trust GFE. I do not install it.
User avatar
Selur
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 3:49 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: "ERROR: Failed to create CUDA contex" - DGDecNV 32bit

Post by Selur »

Gimme a second, before you set it to resolved.
Will try to see what happens if I now upgrade to the latest drivers (clean install).
Post Reply