[RESOLVED] not able to feed the encoder

Support forum for DGDecNV
User avatar
hydra3333
Posts: 394
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 3:34 am
Contact:

Re: [RESOLVED] not able to feed the encoder

Post by hydra3333 »

OK. Thank you.
admin wrote:
Sun Jan 21, 2018 6:47 am
Your remaining questions were answered in a reply to your post at the forum you cited.
Yes they were answered there by some kind soul.

In regard to tonemap like in here https://github.com/ifb/vapoursynth-tonemap and "DG software", what I meant to wonder was would it be faster in a CUDA accelerated sense or does it seem trivial in terms of cpu cost and thus not worth it as new cuda plugin ?

I wondered because tonemapped hdr -> sdr seems reasonably likely to be a handy thing into the mid term future. As may be AV1 support I guess although that'd seem to be problematic and depend on the users' cards and nvidia's software.
I really do like it here.
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: [RESOLVED] not able to feed the encoder

Post by admin »

That's an interesting idea, hydra3333. I'll look into it. Thanks.
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: [RESOLVED] not able to feed the encoder

Post by admin »

I'm starting a new thread about this.

viewtopic.php?f=8&t=617
DAE avatar
mparade
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2014 7:45 am

Re: [RESOLVED] not able to feed the encoder

Post by mparade »

If you have an application that accepts 16 bit you can omit the convertbits call. Or you can change it to convertbits(10) if your application accepts 10 bit.
x265 accepts both 16 and 10 bit input but it is still not clear to me which would have better results finally in case of HDR input:

1. by using ConvertBits(10) and feeding x265 with 10-bit input or
2. by omitting the call and feeding x265 with 16-bit input.

Output depth in x265 is set to 10-bit.

Thank you very much for any kind of help.
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: [RESOLVED] not able to feed the encoder

Post by admin »

The results will be the same. There is no information (all zeros) in the lower 6 bits when delivering 10-bit content as YUV420P16.
DAE avatar
mparade
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2014 7:45 am

Re: [RESOLVED] not able to feed the encoder

Post by mparade »

Thanks!
User avatar
admin
Posts: 4551
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: [RESOLVED] not able to feed the encoder

Post by admin »

You are most welcome and thank you for your contributions over the years. :salute:
Post Reply