[RESOLVED] DGDecNV error using Windows 10

Support forum for DGDecNV
DAE avatar
rack04
Moose Approved
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2010 6:45 am

[RESOLVED] DGDecNV error using Windows 10

Post by rack04 »

I recently "upgraded" my PC to Windows 10 and I'm struggling to get DGDecNV to work. I don't know if it's an AviSynth, DGDecNV, Windows 10, or user error. I'll try to provide as much information as I have.

The error when opening the AviSynth Script under MeGUI 2913 x64 is the following:

DGSource: Could not open DGIndexNV.ini
(D:\Work\Hocus Pocus.avs, line 2)

Here is the contents of the AViSynth Script:

LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files\DGDecNV\DGDecodeNV.dll")
DGSource("D:\Work\Hocus Pocus.dgi")
Spline64Resize(1280,720)

I'm using the following software versions:

dgdecnv2053 2020-10-04 11:56
AviSynthPlus_3.6.1_20200619
MeGUI-2913-64
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 1181
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

Re: DGDecNV error using Windows 10

Post by Rocky »

DGSource() reads the path to DGIndexNV.exe from the second line of the DGI file. It expects to find DGIndexNV.ini at that folder. Perhaps you have moved or renamed things.
DAE avatar
rack04
Moose Approved
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2010 6:45 am

Re: DGDecNV error using Windows 10

Post by rack04 »

Rocky wrote:
Sun Oct 18, 2020 9:03 am
DGSource() reads the path to c from the second line of the DGI file. It expects to find DGIndexNV.ini at that folder. Perhaps you have moved or renamed things.
Thanks. I think I have it fixed. the DGIndexNV.ini file wasn't automatically created until I opened DGIndexNV.exe using "Run as administrator".
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 1181
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

Re: DGDecNV error using Windows 10

Post by Rocky »

Good to hear. Of course you'll need to be able to write to that directory to create the INI file. Bear in mind that every time DGIndexNV closes, it re-writes the INI file. So maybe you will have issues if you run it without permissions to the folder.

For some reason you were not Moose Approved. I'll notify Bullwinkle. Some great people got missed when we removed the 'Distinguished Member' rank.

EDIT: Fixed your rank. Thank you for your contributions over the years.
DAE avatar
rack04
Moose Approved
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2010 6:45 am

Re: DGDecNV error using Windows 10

Post by rack04 »

Well it works in MeGUI but I still can't encode using X264 or view in MPC-BE. I suspect it is some Windows 10 setting but I have UAC disabled so I'm at a loss.
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 1181
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

Re: DGDecNV error using Windows 10

Post by Rocky »

rack04 wrote:
Sun Oct 18, 2020 9:16 am
Well it works in MeGUI but I still can't encode using X264 or view in MPC-BE.
What is the exact error that you receive?
DAE avatar
rack04
Moose Approved
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2010 6:45 am

Re: DGDecNV error using Windows 10

Post by rack04 »

avs [error]: failed to load avisynth
x264 [error]: could not open input file `D:\Work\Hocus Pocus.avs'
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 1181
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

Re: DGDecNV error using Windows 10

Post by Rocky »

You get both those errors when trying to use X264?

Please give your exact X264 version and command line.

Also try a simple script like:

Version()

If it's an Avisynth issue then that would likely rule out a DGDecNV issue. Still, let's try to get it working.
DAE avatar
rack04
Moose Approved
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2010 6:45 am

Re: DGDecNV error using Windows 10

Post by rack04 »

Yes, I get both when running AviSynth.

x264 0.157.2969 d4099dd

When I try version() I get nothing in MPC-BE. I'm guessing that means it's a AviSynth issue. Do you have a x64 version of AviSynth you recommend?
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 1181
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

Re: DGDecNV error using Windows 10

Post by Rocky »

rack04 wrote:
Sun Oct 18, 2020 9:35 am
Yes, I get both when running AviSynth.
Did you mean "when running X264"?
When I try version() I get nothing in MPC-BE. I'm guessing that means it's a AviSynth issue. Do you have a x64 version of AviSynth you recommend?
I am using Avisynth+ 0.1 (r2728, MT, x86_64). Haven't had any reason to run later versions, so can't advise about that. Haven't heard of any issues there, however.

Make sure everything is 64-bit, including X264 and your players. I use 64-bit VirtualDub2 for viewing scripts ( :salute: shekh ).
DAE avatar
rack04
Moose Approved
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2010 6:45 am

Re: DGDecNV error using Windows 10

Post by rack04 »

Yes, sorry x264. Let me see if I can find that version of AviSynth to download and install.

Using VirtualDub2 x64 I get the following error when I open the AviSynth Script.

"AVI Import Filter error: (Unknown) (80040154)"
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 1181
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

Re: DGDecNV error using Windows 10

Post by Rocky »

Definitely an Avisynth issue.

https://github.com/pinterf/AviSynthPlus ... /tag/r2728

Links at bottom of page.

Installing these legacy versions can be tricky for ones with no installer. If that applies here, you can install a recent version with an installer and then replace avisynth.dll in the system directory. Can't remember if r2728 has an installer.

Probably better to go to Doom9 for Avisynth+ matters.
DAE avatar
rack04
Moose Approved
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2010 6:45 am

Re: DGDecNV error using Windows 10

Post by rack04 »

Resolved. Using the version you linked works. Thank you for your time.
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 1181
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

Re: DGDecNV error using Windows 10

Post by Rocky »

Cool. Still we should follow up to see if the latest Avisynth+ version has any issues. pinterf and I would be very concerned about that. I will check it.
DAE avatar
rack04
Moose Approved
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2010 6:45 am

Re: DGDecNV error using Windows 10

Post by rack04 »

I'm running a encode now but will check once complete. I'll uninstall "AviSynthPlus-MT-r2728" and install "AviSynthPlus_3.6.1_20200619" and see if it works.
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 1181
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

Re: [RESOLVED] DGDecNV error using Windows 10

Post by Rocky »

That would be great.

But you raise an important matter. We shouldn't need Admin privileges to get things working. Thinking...
DAE avatar
rack04
Moose Approved
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2010 6:45 am

Re: [RESOLVED] DGDecNV error using Windows 10

Post by rack04 »

I tried as described above and the latest version still doesn't work. I'll take this issue to the Doom9 forum post. Thanks.
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 1181
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

Re: [RESOLVED] DGDecNV error using Windows 10

Post by Rocky »

I'll try it too. Please let us know what you find out. :salute:
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 1181
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

Re: [RESOLVED] DGDecNV error using Windows 10

Post by Rocky »

I had 2728 installed as I mentioned. So I got the Avs+ 3.6.1 (latest) files-only package and took out Avisynth.dll from it. Renamed my 2728 DLL and then put the 3.6.1 Avisynth.dll in system32. Everything appears to work fine with Version() and DGSource(). So, you may be having a problem with its installer.

Still thinking about the permissions matter...
DAE avatar
rack04
Moose Approved
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2010 6:45 am

Re: [RESOLVED] DGDecNV error using Windows 10

Post by rack04 »

Rocky wrote:
Mon Oct 19, 2020 10:05 am
I had 2728 installed as I mentioned. So I got the Avs+ 3.6.1 (latest) files-only package and took out Avisynth.dll from it. Renamed my 2728 DLL and then put the 3.6.1 Avisynth.dll in system32. Everything appears to work fine with Version() and DGSource(). So, you may be having a problem with its installer.

Still thinking about the permissions matter...
Thanks for the update. Must be something else on my end. I tried as you explained and still the same error. Reverting back to 2728 AviSynth.dll in System32 and SysWOW64 works.
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 1181
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

Re: [RESOLVED] DGDecNV error using Windows 10

Post by Rocky »

Thank you, rack04. You never told us exactly what isn't working. If you want to tell us the exact error maybe we can help. That kid Sherman is pretty smart. Not in Albert's league, but IQ 158 is pretty good.
DAE avatar
rack04
Moose Approved
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2010 6:45 am

Re: [RESOLVED] DGDecNV error using Windows 10

Post by rack04 »

This is the error I get using VirtualDub2 when I open the AviSynth Script version().

"AVI Import Filter error: (Unknown) (80040154)"
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 1181
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

Re: [RESOLVED] DGDecNV error using Windows 10

Post by Rocky »

OK, thanks. Sherman is looking at it.
User avatar
Sherman
Moose Approved
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2020 10:19 pm

Re: [RESOLVED] DGDecNV error using Windows 10

Post by Sherman »

You may be missing a needed dependency. Use avsmeter (great work by Groucho2004) as described here to check that:

https://forum.videohelp.com/threads/302 ... ost2597471

Hope it helps.

Albert and I have implemented a 10-year future capability for the Wayback Machine. We need to increase that to around 500 years to rescue DG. We are hopeful! Albert says we can find a reference frame in which 10 years transforms to 500 years. That's beyond me. I'm still working on Hilbert spaces and unitary operators, but I trust him.
User avatar
Bullwinkle
Moose Approved
Posts: 179
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2019 6:37 pm

Re: [RESOLVED] DGDecNV error using Windows 10

Post by Bullwinkle »

I was just a gangly calf when we lost DG. Now look at me. They call me a powerful presence! Big cheese at a premiere video site.

It will be great to have DG back. The first Moose Lodge dinner with him will be epic. We'll call it the second coming of DG! As if Albert wasn't enough, the ladies will be swooning.

Keep your iron hot and clean, Sherm. We don't need any cold joints on that Wayback Machine. Unless you want to lose Mr Peabody. Then maybe it's OK. :lol:
Post Reply