[RESOLVED] Coded frame dimensions are too large

Support forum for DGDecNV
Post Reply
User avatar
MeteorRain
Posts: 130
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2014 4:04 pm
Location: New Jersey

[RESOLVED] Coded frame dimensions are too large

Post by MeteorRain »

So I have a 8K video but I don't have a 1030+ card. I borrowed a remote computer with 1050 from a friend and tried to load the video into DGIndexNV.

Code: Select all

---------------------------
Error
---------------------------
Coded frame dimensions are too large
---------------------------
OK
---------------------------

Code: Select all

Format                                   : Matroska
Format version                           : Version 4 / Version 2
File size                                : 16.4 GiB
Duration                                 : 28 min 59 s
Overall bit rate                         : 80.9 Mb/s

Format                                   : HEVC
Format/Info                              : High Efficiency Video Coding
Format profile                           : Main 10@L6.1@Main
Codec ID                                 : V_MPEGH/ISO/HEVC
Duration                                 : 28 min 59 s
Bit rate                                 : 80.9 Mb/s
Width                                    : 7 680 pixels
Height                                   : 4 320 pixels
Display aspect ratio                     : 16:9
Frame rate mode                          : Constant
Frame rate                               : 59.940 (60000/1001) FPS
Driver 436.30 Compute 6.1 sm_60. Video plays in a player.

What do you think is the problem? My friend is not tech savvy.
User avatar
Rocky
Posts: 3557
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

Re: Coded frame dimensions are too large

Post by Rocky »

Need to bump up the internal frame buffer size. It will be in the next slipstream. Thank you for pointing it out.

If you could supply a small clip that would be excellent.
User avatar
MeteorRain
Posts: 130
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2014 4:04 pm
Location: New Jersey

Re: Coded frame dimensions are too large

Post by MeteorRain »

I knew you would ask. So here you are.
User avatar
Rocky
Posts: 3557
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

Re: Coded frame dimensions are too large

Post by Rocky »

Thanks!
User avatar
Rocky
Posts: 3557
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

Re: Coded frame dimensions are too large

Post by Rocky »

It's running fine after enlarging the frame buffers and fixing a bug in the HEVC parser. Slipstream coming...
User avatar
hydra3333
Posts: 394
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 3:34 am
Contact:

Re: Coded frame dimensions are too large

Post by hydra3333 »

:hat:
I really do like it here.
User avatar
Rocky
Posts: 3557
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

Re: Coded frame dimensions are too large

Post by Rocky »

Fixed in slipstream 188.
User avatar
MeteorRain
Posts: 130
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2014 4:04 pm
Location: New Jersey

Re: [RESOLVED] Coded frame dimensions are too large

Post by MeteorRain »

Now I'm getting this when opening 8k test.mkv.

---------------------------
Error
---------------------------
GPU decoder: Failed to create video decoder [2]. Exiting...
---------------------------

Tried opening a random 720p file, no error message though.

Card is
0x10de:0x1c81:2:7:GP107 [GeForce GTX 1050 LP] 1862

Any thought?
DAE avatar
Guest

Re: [RESOLVED] Coded frame dimensions are too large

Post by Guest »

I just loaded your test file into the new DGIndexNV and it worked fine.
Here are the log and dgi file for the 64 bit version
test.log
(410 Bytes) Downloaded 509 times
test.dgi
(928 Bytes) Downloaded 497 times
By the way, is your card the 2 Gigabyte model?

Just tried the 32 bit version and no obvious issues
User avatar
Rocky
Posts: 3557
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

Re: [RESOLVED] Coded frame dimensions are too large

Post by Rocky »

Thanks for test results, gonca, but you should mention your card type. Tested successfully here on 2080 Ti, 1080 Ti, and 1050 Ti. All >= 4GB video memory.

MeteorRain, can you give the vendor card details? Name and model, etc. And how much memory is on it? Finally, what nVidia driver is installed? I looked at a random MSI 1050 LP 2GB and the technical specs say that it supports 8K video. So, hmmm? :scratch:
User avatar
MeteorRain
Posts: 130
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2014 4:04 pm
Location: New Jersey

Re: [RESOLVED] Coded frame dimensions are too large

Post by MeteorRain »

Unfortunately she's sleeping so I don't know exactly what brand and model she has.

But indeed it has only 2 GB memory. Would this card not be able to decode 8K video?

(And yes, I checked purevideo specs, and read 1050 does support 8K hevc.)

Control panel reads 436.30, and device manager reads 26.21.14.3630 on 9/5/2019.
User avatar
Rocky
Posts: 3557
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

Re: [RESOLVED] Coded frame dimensions are too large

Post by Rocky »

Possibly with CUDA buffers and other stuff set up by DGDecNV, 2GB is not enough.
User avatar
Bullwinkle
Posts: 338
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2019 6:37 pm

Re: [RESOLVED] Coded frame dimensions are too large

Post by Bullwinkle »

Hey Rock error 2 means out of memory on the device.

1050 Ti that works has 4GB.
User avatar
Rocky
Posts: 3557
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

Re: [RESOLVED] Coded frame dimensions are too large

Post by Rocky »

Oh yeah, duh. Thanks Bullwinkle!
User avatar
MeteorRain
Posts: 130
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2014 4:04 pm
Location: New Jersey

Re: [RESOLVED] Coded frame dimensions are too large

Post by MeteorRain »

So that means it can play back but cannot copy back full screen data back to ram?

Or it simply cannot decode such high resolution @ high bitrate?

I'll let her try playing the video locally and see if lavfilter could handle it. I'll report back later.

On the other hand, any options to turn off some CUDA buffers during indexing?
User avatar
Rocky
Posts: 3557
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

Re: [RESOLVED] Coded frame dimensions are too large

Post by Rocky »

MeteorRain wrote:
Sun Sep 22, 2019 12:59 pm
So that means it can play back but cannot copy back full screen data back to ram?

Or it simply cannot decode such high resolution @ high bitrate?
Bitrate is not important as it fails at init. Need a research project to find out why 2GB is not enough here, but it's not likely to get high on the priority list as 8K users will likely have high-end cards. Memory is allocated on the GPU for the kernels that convert back to RGB24 for display in DGIndexNV. That could be the difference. Can't see making hacks to salvage 2GB cards. Can't even think about CUDASynth in 2GB! :roll:

Time to deprecate 2GB cards?
User avatar
MeteorRain
Posts: 130
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2014 4:04 pm
Location: New Jersey

Re: [RESOLVED] Coded frame dimensions are too large

Post by MeteorRain »

That does make sense. GTX 1050 is the only card that falls in 8K capable and 2GB graphics memory. 1650 comes with 4GB so it's unlikely hit someone in the future. By the time 8K video is getting popular I'm sure we will have much better cards to use.

We are kinda pioneers at working with 4k and 8k videos at the moment. It's the first time I get a broadcasting 8k capped.
DAE avatar
Guest

Re: [RESOLVED] Coded frame dimensions are too large

Post by Guest »

Quick and dirty experiment to measure video memory during indexing
GTX 1080 Ti with 11264 MB of VRAM
DGIndexNV (latest) and HWMonitor used

When indexing a BD file (2K) DGIndexNV uses 2% of memory (~225MB)
When indexing a UHD file (4K) DGIndexNV uses 7% of memory (~788 MB)
If we allow a ratio of 3 for 8K to 4K (frame size is about 4 times) then 2364 MB are required to index this 8K file
I would say that 4GB is a safe minimum for 8K.
The test file is too short to get a reading on memory. It is finished too quickly
User avatar
Bullwinkle
Posts: 338
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2019 6:37 pm

Re: [RESOLVED] Coded frame dimensions are too large

Post by Bullwinkle »

Good stuff, thanks.
Post Reply