Feature Requests

Support forum for DGDecNV
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 1284
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

Re: Feature Requests

Post by Rocky »

You can already right click on DGIndexNV.exe, select Properties/Details and get that information. Is that good enough?
DAE avatar
Boulder
Moose Approved
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 7:22 am

Re: Feature Requests

Post by Boulder »

Rocky wrote:
Sun Apr 12, 2020 7:00 am
OK, how about adding a formatted command line to the DGI file right there with the existing HDR lines? You could copy and paste from that and it would be easier to implement. Or I could just replace the existing lines with the formatted version.
That would definitely work fine. While you're at it, would you mind adding the --frames xxxxx parameter as well? It's something I always add to the command line as it then gives the ETA when encoding.
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 1284
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

Re: Feature Requests

Post by Rocky »

Please let me know if this is working for you. The line is labeled X265_CL and it is at the bottom of the DGI file.

http://rationalqm.us/misc/DGIndexNV_Boulder.exe
DAE avatar
Boulder
Moose Approved
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 7:22 am

Re: Feature Requests

Post by Boulder »

Rocky wrote:
Sun Apr 12, 2020 11:11 am
Please let me know if this is working for you. The line is labeled X265_CL and it is at the bottom of the DGI file.

http://rationalqm.us/misc/DGIndexNV_Boulder.exe
Thank you, works and looks good :D I'd remove all the extra whitespaces though, the input values are strings and I don't know if they are stripped by x265 or not. As such, better make it exactly the same format they show in their docs.
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 1284
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

Re: Feature Requests

Post by Rocky »

OK, will do. Thank you Boulder for this great feature request. Always looking to improve the DG user experience. :salute:
User avatar
kebulek
Moose Approved
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 10:16 am

Re: Feature Requests

Post by kebulek »

kebulek wrote:
Sun Apr 12, 2020 7:11 am
Can you please add command line flag -V or -version?

Code: Select all

DGIndexNV.exe -version
->
DGIndexNV 2053.0.0.206 (64 bit) built on Apr 10 2020
That would be great, thank you! :salute:
Rocky wrote:
Sun Apr 12, 2020 7:39 am
You can already right click on DGIndexNV.exe, select Properties/Details and get that information. Is that good enough?
I would like to display it in command line, so that is sadly not good enough for me. :(
User avatar
Bullwinkle
Moose Approved
Posts: 193
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2019 6:37 pm

Re: Feature Requests

Post by Bullwinkle »

Too bad, so sad.
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 1284
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

Re: Feature Requests

Post by Rocky »

I suppose there is no harm in it and it is pretty easy to do, so I'll do it. Thank you for the suggestion, kebulek.
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 1284
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

Re: Feature Requests

Post by Rocky »

Now looking at it, I can output to the console but it is asynchronous, so you'll get output like this:

-----
D:\Don\Programming\C++\DGDecNV\DGIndexNV\x64\Debug>dgindexnv -version

D:\Don\Programming\C++\DGDecNV\DGIndexNV\x64\Debug>DGIndexNV 2053.0.0.206 (64 bit)
-----

Is that acceptable, kebulek? The alternative is to make some com/exe hack (https://code.google.com/archive/p/dualsubsystem/) but I am disinclined to do that.
User avatar
kebulek
Moose Approved
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 10:16 am

Re: Feature Requests

Post by kebulek »

Yes, that is very acceptable! ;) Thank you very much.
User avatar
tormento
Moose Approved
Posts: 381
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 2:18 pm

Re: Feature Requests

Post by tormento »

Boulder wrote:
Fri Apr 03, 2020 1:30 pm
Would it be possible to have the HDR-specific colorimetry and mastering information written in the template in x265 style with a macro? I don't know if you already determine the chroma location but that would be useful too. All these would then be easy to drop in the x265 commandline.
Now that the feature has been kindly provided by Rocky, would you please write a noob HDR guide to encode UHD BD to x265 maintaining HDR data?

Such as: decode with DGIndexNV, now that you have the DGI with parameters..... :salute:
User avatar
Curly
Moose Approved
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2020 11:05 am

Re: Feature Requests

Post by Curly »

I hope Boulder replies because I don't have a clue. :? :facepalm:
User avatar
Natasha
Mosquito
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2019 11:11 am

Re: Feature Requests

Post by Natasha »

Curly wrote:
Wed Apr 15, 2020 1:28 pm
I don't have a clue.
We knew that darling.
DAE avatar
Boulder
Moose Approved
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 7:22 am

Re: Feature Requests

Post by Boulder »

Curly wrote:
Wed Apr 15, 2020 1:28 pm
I hope Boulder replies because I don't have a clue. :? :facepalm:
--hdr-opt is probably the only one that you need in addition to what is already provided by DGIndexNV. And of course, the x265 parameters to taste. --hdr is set automatically if you specify master-display or max-cll.
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 1284
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

Re: Feature Requests

Post by Rocky »

If I may add, yes tormento, just make a project and script for your HDR stream. Then run x265.exe with the script and the options Boulder described. It's not that involved.

BTW:

"Renamed --hdr-opt to --hdr10-opt. --hdr-opt will be deprecated in the upcoming major release."
User avatar
gonca
Curly Approved/Moose Approved
Posts: 969
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 6:12 pm

Re: Feature Requests

Post by gonca »

Here is a sample command line to get you started
"C:\Program Files (Portable)\x265\x265.exe" --crf 18 --level-idc 5.1 --output-depth 10 --vbv-bufsize 160000 --vbv-maxrate 160000 --keyint 120 --no-open-gop --master-display "G(13250,34500)B(7500,3000)R(34000,16000)WP(15635,16450)L(10000000,0)" --colorprim bt2020 --colormatrix bt2020nc --transfer smpte2084 --range limited --hdr --repeat-headers --hrd --aud --input-depth 10 --no-strong-intra-smoothing --frames 177147 --y4m --output T:\WARCRAFT.hevc -
Note
MaxCLL and MaxFALL were not required on this movie
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 1284
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

Re: Feature Requests

Post by Rocky »

That's not using a script, though, is it? How do we encode from an Avisynth script?
User avatar
gonca
Curly Approved/Moose Approved
Posts: 969
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 6:12 pm

Re: Feature Requests

Post by gonca »

"C:\Program Files\VSPIPE\vspipe.exe" WARCRAFT.vpy - --y4m | "C:\Program Files (Portable)\x265\x265.exe" --crf 18 --level-idc 5.1 --output-depth 10 --vbv-bufsize 160000 --vbv-maxrate 160000 --keyint 120 --no-open-gop --master-display "G(13250,34500)B(7500,3000)R(34000,16000)WP(15635,16450)L(10000000,0)" --colorprim bt2020 --colormatrix bt2020nc --transfer smpte2084 --range limited --hdr --repeat-headers --hrd --aud --input-depth 10 --no-strong-intra-smoothing --frames 177147 --y4m --output T:\WARCRAFT.hevc -
This is for a VS script
Should be readily adaptable to an AVS+ script, just replace vspipe with avs2y4m I believe
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 1284
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

Re: Feature Requests

Post by Rocky »

Oh, I see, thank you. The pipe thingie. :facepalm:
User avatar
gonca
Curly Approved/Moose Approved
Posts: 969
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 6:12 pm

Re: Feature Requests

Post by gonca »

Yeah, that intermediate magic box
Required if you don't to rely on some gui, which would just pipe it on the authors terms, not yours
User avatar
Rocky
Moose Approved
Posts: 1284
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

Re: Feature Requests

Post by Rocky »

Well, some GUIs are wonderful and some...not so much.
User avatar
Curly
Moose Approved
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2020 11:05 am

Re: Feature Requests

Post by Curly »

Hehe, I know which one you are thinking about! :agree:
User avatar
Natasha
Mosquito
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2019 11:11 am

Re: Feature Requests

Post by Natasha »

Curly said something intelligent. Is it a first?
User avatar
Mr. Peabody
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2019 9:20 am

Re: Feature Requests

Post by Mr. Peabody »

Miss Natasha, intelligence is merely a social construct that should not be used to divide and excoriate:

https://youtu.be/GaYdtUVL6Co?t=11

"You see, I have been told that I am intelligent."
User avatar
Bullwinkle
Moose Approved
Posts: 193
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2019 6:37 pm

Re: Feature Requests

Post by Bullwinkle »

Anyone spending 10 minutes on that nonsense is definitely low IQ.
Post Reply