Wrong FPS report for CLI mode

Support forum for DGDecNV
Post Reply
DAE avatar
Guest 2
Posts: 903
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 2:18 pm

Wrong FPS report for CLI mode

Post by Guest 2 »

Ok, I did some trials with driver versions 512.59, 512.77, 516.01 and 512.96.

It's neither a CUDA problem (I have changed the thread title) nor a driver one, as they all show the same behaviour, i.e. wrong video indexing, reporting a wrong FPS:

Code: Select all

Stream Type: Matroska
Video Type: AVC
Profile: High
Level: 4
Coded Size: 1920x1088
PAR: 1:1
Display Size: 1920x1080
Frame Rate: 90000.000000 fps
Colorimetry: Unknown [2]
Frame Structure: 
Frame Type: 
Coded Number: 35198
Playback Number: 35198
Frame Repeats: 0
Field Repeats: 0
Bitrate: 
Bitrate (Avg): 38538.718
Bitrate (Max): 
Audio Stream: 2: A_FLAC 48000 2ch "jpn"
Elapsed: 0:00:04
Remain: 0:00:00
FPS: 
Info: Finished!
Something has gone wrong the 243 version of DGIndexNV/DGDecNV, as I can see in the DGI, it reports FPS 90000 / 1.

And, manually opening the mkv:

Image

but the original stream is absolutely correct:

Code: Select all

Video
ID                             : 1
Format                         : AVC
Format/Info                    : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile                 : High@L4
Format settings                : CABAC / 4 Ref Frames
Format settings, CABAC         : Yes
Format settings, Reference fra : 4 frames
Codec ID                       : V_MPEG4/ISO/AVC
Duration                       : 24 min 28 s
Bit rate                       : 13.2 Mb/s
Width                          : 1 920 pixels
Height                         : 1 080 pixels
Display aspect ratio           : 16:9
Frame rate mode                : Constant
Frame rate                     : 23.976 (24000/1001) FPS
Color space                    : YUV
Chroma subsampling             : 4:2:0
Bit depth                      : 8 bits
Scan type                      : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame)             : 0.266
Stream size                    : 2.26 GiB (90%)
Writing library                : x264 core 142
Encoding settings              : opencl=1 / cabac=1 / ref=4 / deblock=1:-2:-2 / analyse=0x3:0x113 / me=umh / subme=9 / psy=1 / psy_rd=0.70:0.00 / mixed_ref=0 / me_range=32 / chroma_me=1 / trellis=2 / 8x8dct=1 / cqm=0 / deadzone=21,11 / fast_pskip=1 / chroma_qp_offset=-2 / threads=8 / lookahead_threads=1 / sliced_threads=0 / nr=0 / decimate=1 / interlaced=0 / bluray_compat=0 / constrained_intra=0 / bframes=9 / b_pyramid=2 / b_adapt=2 / b_bias=0 / direct=3 / weightb=1 / open_gop=0 / weightp=2 / keyint=250 / keyint_min=23 / scenecut=40 / intra_refresh=0 / rc_lookahead=40 / rc=crf / mbtree=1 / crf=16.0 / qcomp=0.70 / qpmin=10 / qpmax=20 / qpstep=4 / ip_ratio=1.40 / aq=1:1.00
Default                        : Yes
Forced                         : No
Of course, unfortunately, the CLI indexing used by StaxRIP can't report the false mismatch.

I have tested 242 version with all the above driver versions and there are no issues at all.

To double check, I used the major software video decoders and they work fine too.
User avatar
Rocky
Posts: 3556
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

Wrong FPS report for CLI mode

Post by Rocky »

Mediainfo is always using the container rate I suppose. OK, I'll change it so that if there is a mismatch in CLI mode, instead of defaulting to the ES rate, I'll follow the INI file setting. You'd set that to ES or container/prompt. In your case either container or prompt would work. You won't be prompted in CLI, if set for prompt it will use container. Look for patch within the hour.
DAE avatar
Guest 2
Posts: 903
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 2:18 pm

Wrong FPS report for CLI mode

Post by Guest 2 »

Rocky wrote:
Tue May 24, 2022 12:04 pm
Mediainfo is always using the container rate I suppose. OK, I'll change it so that if there is a mismatch in CLI mode, instead of defaulting to the ES rate, I'll follow the INI file setting. You'd set that to ES or container, not prompt. In your case container of course. Look for patch within the hour.
Much better to add a switch to command line so that DGindexNV in Windows mode keeps on asking.

As a curiosity, how can I get the raw video framerate?

P.S: It's not possible that all the video I touched in the last days have strange raw fps. Sure it is not a bug in 243?
User avatar
Rocky
Posts: 3556
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

Wrong FPS report for CLI mode

Post by Rocky »

Please re-download 243 and try again. For CLI mode, if in the INI file ResponseOnFPSMismatch=0 (prompt) or 2 (use container rate) then the container rate will be used when there is a mismatch. If ResponseOnFPSMismatch=1 then the ES frame rate will be used when there is a mismatch. You can set this using either DGIndexNV Settings, or manually edit the INI file. Please advise your results.
DAE avatar
Guest 2
Posts: 903
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 2:18 pm

Wrong FPS report for CLI mode

Post by Guest 2 »

Rocky wrote:
Tue May 24, 2022 12:36 pm
Please re-download 243 and try again.
Please look at my previous post. I think we posted together and you couldn't see it.
User avatar
Rocky
Posts: 3556
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

Wrong FPS report for CLI mode

Post by Rocky »

Please post a link to a sample if you doubt there is actually a mismatch. I doubt there is a bug as I have tested things extensively.

Non-CLI mode will continue to ask if you have Prompt set. In CLI mode if it is Prompt it will use the container frame rate. Set Prompt (ResponseOnFPSMismatch=0) and you should be fine. If not, tell me.

By "raw" do you mean ES? Open it in DGIndex non-CLI with Prompt. If there is a mismatch it will tell you both the rates in the popup.

I'm trying to avoid more options.
DAE avatar
Guest 2
Posts: 903
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 2:18 pm

Wrong FPS report for CLI mode

Post by Guest 2 »

Rocky wrote:
Tue May 24, 2022 3:44 pm
By "raw" do you mean ES? Open it in DGIndex non-CLI with Prompt. If there is a mismatch it will tell you both the rates in the popup.
To check I need and indipendent tool not DGIndexNV.

Can you suggest one but MediaInfo?
User avatar
Rocky
Posts: 3556
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

Wrong FPS report for CLI mode

Post by Rocky »

Demux the video and then open the demuxed video in MediaInfo.
DAE avatar
Guest 2
Posts: 903
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 2:18 pm

Wrong FPS report for CLI mode

Post by Guest 2 »

Rocky wrote:
Tue May 24, 2022 7:24 pm
Demux the video and then open the demuxed video in MediaInfo.
Yep, you were right. I had to use ffplay and:

Code: Select all

Input #0, h264, from '[ReinForce] Sidonia no Kishi ~Ai Tsumugu Hoshi~ (BDRip 1920x804 x264 FLAC) [und] 1.avc':
  Duration: N/A, bitrate: N/A
  Stream #0:0: Video: h264 (High), yuv420p(progressive), 1920x804 [SAR 1:1 DAR 160:67], 90k tbr, 1200k tbn
    nan M-V:    nan fd= 385 aq=    0KB vq=  367KB sq=    0B f=0/0
User avatar
Bullwinkle
Posts: 338
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2019 6:37 pm

Wrong FPS report for CLI mode

Post by Bullwinkle »

tbr in ffmpeg etc. is a strange concept. May we please have a sample of the AVC just to check a few things?
DAE avatar
Guest 2
Posts: 903
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 2:18 pm

Wrong FPS report for CLI mode

Post by Guest 2 »

Bullwinkle wrote:
Wed May 25, 2022 5:47 am
tbr in ffmpeg etc. is a strange concept. May we please have a sample of the AVC just to check a few things?
https://send.cm/d/BUGU
User avatar
Rocky
Posts: 3556
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:57 pm

Wrong FPS report for CLI mode

Post by Rocky »

Thank you. The AVC definitely specifies 90000 fps. The stream was encoded by x264.exe, which I don't know enough about to know why it got coded that way. Apparently, you are not the first to run into this:

https://www.google.com/search?q=x264+st ... nt=gws-wiz

Probably something to do with signaling VFR, even though it appears not to be VFR at container level. If you open the AVC in MediaInfo it shows variable frame rate.

Marking resolved.
DAE avatar
Guest 2
Posts: 903
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 2:18 pm

Wrong FPS report for CLI mode

Post by Guest 2 »

Rocky wrote:
Wed May 25, 2022 11:33 am
Probably something to do with signaling VFR, even though it appears not to be VFR at container level. If you open the AVC in MediaInfo it shows variable frame rate.
Handbrake has to die. Badly.
User avatar
Bullwinkle
Posts: 338
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2019 6:37 pm

Wrong FPS report for CLI mode

Post by Bullwinkle »

Broccoli is good for you. Even frogs.
Post Reply