CUDASynth

These CUDA filters are packaged into DGDecodeNV, which is part of DGDecNV.
User avatar
hydra3333
Distinguished Aussie Member
Distinguished Aussie Member
Posts: 164
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 3:34 am
Contact:

Re: CUDASynth

Post by hydra3333 » Tue May 21, 2019 10:00 pm

Graft, D. A., 2016, “ Clauser-Horne/Eberhard inequality violation by a local model”, Advanced Science, Engineering and Medicine, 8: 496–502.
Nice work, Sir.
(I cited without reading, on the basis of not smart enough to comprehend it :))

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4382
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: CUDASynth

Post by admin » Tue May 21, 2019 10:49 pm

I'm sure you're smart enough; it's just a matter of studying the field first to avoid common errors.

That paper is probably my favorite. The idea hit me in the middle of coaching a swimming workout, and I developed the math on the back of the whiteboard while people were swimming a set. They asked me why I was suddenly in such a good mood! Just refuted a large number of experiments purporting to prove quantum nonlocality.

I'm going to do something about TrueHD demuxing then I will come back to CUDASynth. I can do it in parallel with my current physics paper. It's about EPR steering and Luders projection. Whee!

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4382
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: CUDASynth

Post by admin » Sat Aug 03, 2019 12:55 pm

I'm back to CUDASynth for a while. I had to update everything because the CUDASynth DGDecodeNV was at 253.0.0.158 and current DGDecNV is 2053.0.0.179. Note that the DGHDRtoSDR used below is 1.11 and needs to be upgraded to 1.12.

Here is a test script:

loadplugin("D:\Don\Programming\C++\Avisynth filters\CUDASynth\DGDecodeNV\x64\release\dgdecodenv.dll")
loadplugin("d:\don\Programming\C++\avisynth filters\CUDASynth\DGHDRtoSDR\x64\release\dghdrtosdr.dll")
dgsource("LG Chess 4K Demo.dgi",fulldepth=true,fdst="gpu0")
dghdrtosdr(impl="255",light=250,fsrc="gpu0",fdst="gpu1",fulldepth=true)
dgdenoise(fsrc="gpu1",fdst="gpu0",chroma=true)
dgsharpen(fsrc="gpu0")
trim(0,999)

For non-CUDASynth operation all fsrc and fdst are replaced with "cpu".

Here are the test results showing a very healthy FPS improvement of x3.6 , enough to make the difference between non-real-time and real-time playback:

-----
D:\Don\Programming\C++\Avisynth filters\CUDASynth\CUDASynth Test 1>avsmeter64 "LG Chess 4K Demo - No CudaSynth.avs"

AviSynth+ 0.1 (r2728, MT, x86_64) (0.1.0.0)

Number of frames: 1000
Length (hh:mm:ss.ms): 00:00:16.683
Frame width: 3840
Frame height: 2160
Framerate: 59.940 (60000/1001)
Colorspace: YUV420P16

Frames processed: 1000 (0 - 999)
FPS (min | max | average): 8.496 | 30.45 | 27.05
Memory usage (phys | virt): 316 | 1362 MiB
Thread count: 19
CPU usage (average): 12%

Time (elapsed): 00:00:36.974

D:\Don\Programming\C++\Avisynth filters\CUDASynth\CUDASynth Test 1>avsmeter64 "LG Chess 4K Demo.avs"

AviSynth+ 0.1 (r2728, MT, x86_64) (0.1.0.0)

Number of frames: 1000
Length (hh:mm:ss.ms): 00:00:16.683
Frame width: 3840
Frame height: 2160
Framerate: 59.940 (60000/1001)
Colorspace: YUV420P16

Frames processed: 1000 (0 - 999)
FPS (min | max | average): 54.09 | 103.0 | 97.40
Memory usage (phys | virt): 316 | 1356 MiB
Thread count: 19
CPU usage (average): 12%

Time (elapsed): 00:00:10.267
-----

User avatar
gonca
Distinguished Member
Distinguished Member
Posts: 705
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 6:12 pm

Re: CUDASynth

Post by gonca » Sat Aug 03, 2019 3:12 pm

Do you still have your 1080ti lying around?
Would be interesting to see two card performance if possible

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4382
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: CUDASynth

Post by admin » Sun Aug 04, 2019 5:53 am

I don't have a system that properly supports two cards.

User avatar
gonca
Distinguished Member
Distinguished Member
Posts: 705
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 6:12 pm

Re: CUDASynth

Post by gonca » Sun Aug 04, 2019 6:32 am

It was just an idea.
I am sure the average user doesn't have two cards installed either

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4382
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: CUDASynth

Post by admin » Sun Aug 04, 2019 10:40 am

Need all that extra power and power cables, extra PCIe x16 slot, and extra lanes on the CPU. I hope my next system will have all that. Anyway, expect about a x1.5 to x2.0 boost. ;)

User avatar
gonca
Distinguished Member
Distinguished Member
Posts: 705
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 6:12 pm

Re: CUDASynth

Post by gonca » Sun Aug 04, 2019 10:57 am

I am sure the average user doesn't have two cards installed either
I am a pretty average user, don't have two cards and don't know if my system could handle it for the reasons you mentioned
Just curiosity

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4382
Joined: Thu Sep 09, 2010 3:08 pm

Re: CUDASynth

Post by admin » Sun Aug 04, 2019 11:06 am

Curiosity killed the cat. :lol:

User avatar
tormento
Distinguished Member
Distinguished Member
Posts: 233
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 2:18 pm

Re: CUDASynth

Post by tormento » Wed Aug 07, 2019 2:06 am

I'd really love to see MVTools2 and KNLMeans ported to CudaSynth :bow:

(My mostly used filter is SMDegrain ;) )

Post Reply